Wanting to overclock, have a few questions first


Last Updated:

  1. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I've been reading up on rooting/overclocking and the like, and I've made the decision I want to try to overclock. It just seems like it's not running as good as it should be for a phone of its caliber. Killing apps seems to be the only way to improve the speed of the phone, and I think it's unnecessary to have to kill apps every time I do something on my phone. Some people have said that uninstalling app killers and not worrying about running apps has made their phone faster, and I tried that but it was running even more sluggishly than before. So if I overclock to 800-1000 and not kill apps, would I see a noticeable increase in performance? I usually run either PandaHome or just stock Home, and I may install something like BB if I get tired of home replacements, but I don't want to install a ROM at the moment, only if it's necessary.

    And I have a few questions before I get started:
    I've read a couple threads about rooting/overclocking, and none of them seem to say if it's possible to just get a kernal and overclocking abilities without installing a ROM and wiping the SD card, so is it possible to ONLY get overclocking abilities without installing a custom ROM and wiping the SD card?

    Well, I guess that's my only question, but it will lead to other questions when it gets answered.
     

    Advertisement
  2. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    I'll defer to the smart people, but I'm fairly certain a ROM has to enable the ability to be OCed. There are ROMs that are just stock images that enable this. And if you want a real speed increase, you could flash a new Froyo ROM. Might I suggest Bugless Beast, which is basically stock w/ a couple tweaks you'd never see. That comes w/ an 800MHz kernel stock, so that just may satiate your desire.
     
  3. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    And would doing that require a full wipe? And if I use the new Froyo ROM, would I have to turn off OTA updates and have to manually install every other update after Froyo?
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I wonder how many times I have posted this link? Haha! :D

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/82742-all-new-guide-all-things-root-related.html

    That will get you started. You have a Stock 2.1 ROM running on your phone now. ALL YOU NEED to overclock your phone is:

    Root Access
    Recovery Software (SPRecovery or Clockwork Recovery)
    Overclock Kernel
    SetCPU application (a few bucks and it's in the market)

    That's it for JUST overclocking. If you REALLY want to improve your phone, then you will want a custom ROM like YankeeDudeL was describing. Bugless Beast (2.2 ROM...aka "Froyo") is currently the best ROM in my opinion. Then you're phone will REALLY FLY! ;)

    Edit: Wiping your phone is inevitable. But once your rooted "Titanium Backup" will become your best friend :)
     
  5. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked through that thread a couple times and it didn't seem to answer the question of needing a ROM for overclocking. Maybe I just over looked it :rolleyes:
    And what all does Titanium Backup do?
     
  6. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I didn't mean anything negative by it...you just need to start there to gain root access. Once you have that you can overclock WITHOUT needing to put a custom ROM on your phone. But really...you probably won't stop at having a rooted phone without loading a custom ROM eventually...your phone will love you for it.

    Having said that, you need to understand some things like how to make a nandroid backup, backing up/restoring apps, Android Debug Bridge (ADB), wiping data, formatting partitions, etc. The guide will get you started and then you will pick up the rest as you go. And obviously, forums like this are here to help. ;)

    BTW...Titanium Backup is an app that will backup your phone's applications (with data) and settings. With Titanium, you can restore everything on your phone including call/messaging logs and other things like that. It makes easier work of wiping your phone and switching ROMs.
     
  7. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Titanium Backup is an app that will backup and restore all your apps and/or system data. It's one of those life-saver apps. Many ROMs will require a full wipe to function properly, and this will restore all those apps instead of having to go to the Market and do it manually.

    I would recommend the premium version of TiBu. It offers a "batch" mode which would restore all at once, instead of having to do each one individually.
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Pay for the Titanium Backup - the batch restore is AMAZING and saved me hours of trying to figure out all my apps and restore the settings. It saves everything to the SD Card (which you DO NOT WIPE) and then restores it to your phone.

    I used SPRecovery to make a nandroid backup of my phone's state and then installed the above-said Bugless Beast Froyo. It flat out ROCKS.
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  9. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I take it you download TB after you have rooted and wiped?
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Nononononono. You'll want to root your current ROM so that you can use Titanium to make a backup of all the apps you have now.

    Then, once you wipe and load up a new ROM, all you have to do is download Titanium from the market, and you can restore all you apps and data again.

    If you wiped first, then there'd be no way to make the initial backup.
     
  11. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, hopefully this will be my last question ITT. I'm still confused about TB. So I download it now when I'm stock even though I don't have root and busybox? So how does that help me, seeing as how I'm going to need that to restore all my apps and stuff after I wipe and TB is included in the wipe? Apparently I'm not getting something.
     
  12. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Root FIRST.

    THEN install SPRecovery or Clockwork Mod so you can make a snapshot, backup image of your phone (if something goes wrong you can restore it). I use SPRecovery.

    THEN install Titanium Backup and purchase the key. The key is stored on your SD card, which will not be affected by all this wiping and stuff. Do a batch backup of all your apps + app data: it's saved to your SD card by TB.

    Once you've successfully ROMmed and overclocked to your heart's desire (I use Bugless Beast 0.1 @ 800 MHz), the FIRST thing you install from the market is Titanium Backup. It will read the key from your SD card, and you can then batch RESTORE all your apps and data.

    ALL DONE :D I know, it all seems very daunting but that's pretty much the gist of it
     
  13. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I have SPRecovery on my phone now. I feel like I'm being annoying asking all these questions, but if I don't have the money to purchase a key (don't have a paypal, currently in college trying to save to pay off loans) is the free version just the same without batch mode? Like I'll be able to back up all my apps + data, just individually and it's the same as it would be with the donate version?
     
  14. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Pretty much. You can backup each app one at a time.

    MAKE SURE before you start wiping anything that you do an advanced nandroid backup in SPRecovery. CHECK EVERY OPTION and do that backup first! Then you can start experimenting.

    You're getting closer! :D
     
  15. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I lied earlier, I'm in the process of doing SPRecovery and I'm kinda stuck. I rebooted and opened RSD lite while rebooting and no SPRecovery 2.1 SBF file came up. I made sure the sum was exactly what it's supposed to be, and I put all files where the guide said to put them.
     
  16. Wazoo

    Wazoo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disregard this and the last post, I just had to move the .sbf to my documents and it worked.
     

Share This Page

Loading...