wanting to overclock my spectrumTips


Last Updated:

  1. TwoTabs

    TwoTabs Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    whats the best app to use for doing so?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ortrigger

    ortrigger Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    340

    You have to have a custom kernel in order to overclock. We don't have that yet for ics.
     
  3. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    82
    Well first of all, do you have a kernel that supports OC? if so, No Frills CPU Control is my favorite.
     
  4. ortrigger

    ortrigger Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    340

    I prefer setcpu because it does profiles better than any other app I've found. If you're on gb still then go for it. Otherwise, we're going to have to wait for custom ics kernels.
     
  5. TwoTabs

    TwoTabs Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    oh im on ics. i will wait then
    thanks for the fast replys guys :)
     
  6. bones420la

    bones420la Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    81
    i use setcpu to underclock when my screen is off and when im in a call to save battery.... i think its setcpu 3.1 that i use..

    hopefully the devs will have the bootloader issue fixed soon and someone can get us overclocked... id love to see 2ghz
     
  7. Lightswarm

    Lightswarm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    21
    Lol 2Ghz would so nuke the phone. It can barely runat 1.8 GHz so imagine instability with a cast r clock speed. And if it could work, the battery life would be really bad, really really bad.
     
  8. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    255
    I don't have unlocked bootloader and I'm currently using SetCPU to overclock and run profiles.
     
  9. ortrigger

    ortrigger Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    340

    We don't have a kernel that supports overclock yet. I'm sure the devs are working on it though.
     
  10. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    255
    So are you saying I shouldn't be using SetCPU? It seems to be working fine.
     
  11. ortrigger

    ortrigger Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    340

    No, I'm saying that we can't actually overclock our phones yet. I use SetCPU also for cpu control and profiles.
     
  12. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    255
    Noob question: So amping up the CPU speed with SetCPU is not the same as overclocking?
     
  13. Neph81

    Neph81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    823
    Correct. If you're running at 1.5Ghz, then you are at the max the stock kernel allows. By default, VZW set the V6 kernel down at 1.2Ghz, but going back up to 1.5 would not be considered over clocked. On V6, people had written custom kernels that did 1.8Ghz+, with varying degrees of success.
     
    PrinceCorwin likes this.
  14. bones420la

    bones420la Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    81
    ive seen a epic4g(same internals as our beloved fascinate) running stable at 2ghz....

    all we would need is to tweak the voltages for each cpu step.. im pretty sure some of the stronger spectrums could run it. if we got it with cm9 or cm10.. im sure battery life wouldnt be any worse than stock

    on v6 people were getting better battery life running at 1.8 than 1.5
     
  15. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    I didn't see any better performance with the phone overclocked. Depending on the rom, I found underclocking performed better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...