wanting to root my caged lion and set him free!!!


Last Updated:

  1. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    ive been debating on whether or not to root my DX since i got it. being my first android phone i didnt want to take the risk of bricking it. but ive read enough on this forum to give me the little boost of confidence i need to give it a shot....but i need some advice. so do i use the 1 click androot and then use a froyo update or can i root and get froyo all in one. also saw fabolous say that its almost impossible to brick one of these things now. can anyone out there give me a good pep talk to ill finally go ahead and do this already? my phone is like a lion in the zoo that needs to be set free....just afraid the zoo keeper is gonna catch him eventually and turn him into a paperweight...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    At this point, I'd just wait for the final froyo ota release.. you can't get it if you use the manual leaked update, and it'll take you an hour or two to completely root, and then update to leaked froyo, and then remove bloat.

    Then you'll also have to restore and reinstall all your apps and homescreens as well.

    And then possibly in a few days, you'll need to sba back to 2.1, so you can get the official OTA, and then of course, root and reinstall and setup everything all over again.
     
  3. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    i wanted to wait for the official froyo but ive read that i wont be able to root if i wait for it is this true? one of the main reasons i want to root is for the free mobile hotspot. maybe im just impatient. everyday i find a way to make my phone better and faster and my battery last longer. i want my froyo.
     
  4. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    They'v cracked everything so far, and I suspect we'll see the TA cracked completely as well.

    I installed the first leaked froyo, and then rolled back and reinstalled and setup everything again so I could get the OTA. Up to you if you want to spend all that time installing stuff, instead of just using your phone instead.
     
    brandonmg99 likes this.
  5. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    I would say just jump in and root. I think everyone is moaning and worrying about no path to ota 2.2 from the leak. No biggie, as soon as it goes out it ll be copied from, deodexed and zipped and in rom manager or a forum somewhere.

    I think I'm at the point where if I had to go back to non-root I wouldn't an android phone, its so meh and tied down.
     
    brandonmg99 likes this.
  6. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    NO
    unless the newest froyo doesn't have a path either
    and you are rooted so you can install it through other means

    YES
    Someone is going to pull update.zip off and root it, there is a possibility the latest froyo we got is the official.
     
  7. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    i say just root it and go for it. no need for the official release. why wait for what we already have. plus root allows you do do so many other things so why wait for the OTA to be rooted.
     
  8. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    I actually found quite a few operating issues with the first leaked froyo, which is why I mainly went back to 2.1, The various issues were not worth the enhancements at the time.
     
  9. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    Now that I have rooted and installed the latest leaked Froyo, and removed the bloatware - I don't care about the OTA anymore.
     
  10. beds

    beds Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    +1 and I haven't even put the latest FroYo on yet.

    Brandon, they will eventually find a way to root the OTA, so you could wait for that if you want - it just means waiting longer to Root your phone. On the other hand, the leaked FroYo is great. I upgraded to the first leak and froze the bloatware with TiBu, and it's like having a new phone. My battery would always run out (or close to it) by the end of the day when I was stock. I was really bummed by it. I plugged my phone in last night with 60% battery left after a day of pretty solid use. It's like having a different phone.

    And the kicker is that it's all easy. Root will take you all of 5 minutes (and that included the time to find and download universal androot). Update through Clockwork Mod and Bootstrap is simple (just remember to use Bootstrap first). And you can use TiBu to freeze things if you don't want to delete them (I did). I'm brand new to all of this as of a month ago, and it's not that hard.

    Not to mention (as D13 pointed out), someone will release the OTA for rooted users anyway (assuming it's not the latest version that was released already).

    Count me as one more who does NOT want the OTA. My phone is running awesome, and I've seen Moto's plan for it with my original stock setup. No thanks.
     
  11. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    +1 to no OTA's
    the only OTA I have ever received is the 2.01 update on the Droid 1
     
  12. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    looks like the world wants me to root! i like it! thanks! i was thinking the newest leak was the official which is why i think i should just do it now. tired of checking for updates and being disappointed. so if i root i can just update to the newest leak, right? and now for my next dumb question....can someone break this process down for me in stupid people terms? i want to make sure i get everything i need to do this right the first time. im still new to all of this. my closest thing to a genius phone like this was a motorola Q but it was still just a phone with email. my DX is SO much more. i love this forum, you all are great!! thanks for your help! NOW LETS ROOT THIS MOFO!!!:D:D:D:D:D
     
  13. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    brandonmg99 likes this.
  14. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok....guess ill give it a shot:eek:. can i do this directly from my phone or do i absolutely have to usb to my computer? im at work right now and....well...you know....:eek:
     
  15. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok. i used the univeralandroot to root....said i was rooted. rebooted. so now how do i know it worked??
     
  16. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    nevermind. found the su icon. got the bootstrap, rom manager and the team black hat thing for 2.3.15. so i download froyo then set up my recovery?
     
  17. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    Check in your app list for a app called superuser. And if its there, welcome to root.

    Next three apps to get are titNium backup and busybox when prompted thru titanium, rom manager, and bootstrap recovery for droid x.
     
  18. beds

    beds Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Download something that needs root;)

    Titanium Backup is a good one. You'll also want bootstrap and clockwork mod pretty quickly so you can make a full backup :)
     
  19. beds

    beds Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Bootstrap
    Clockwork mod - flash recovery
    (backup)
    clockwork mod - get the first froyo leak (it's the only one that will update you from 2.1 to 2.2)
    (backup)
    Go where you want from there.
     
    brandonmg99 likes this.
  20. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    so i have to get the first froyo leak before i can upgrade to 2.3.15? the newest version wont work for me?
     
  21. beds

    beds Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes!
     
  22. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok. where? everything was going smooth until now. cant find it anywhere.
     
  23. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok i found it in the rom manager through another thread search. anything else im missing? did the flash and backup before hand...amazingly...this is easier than i expected. but because all i can do on a computer is type and find free porn its confusing as shit!! thanks for all your help so far. hope i get this going again now. 2.2 is downloading
     
  24. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    correction...was downloading. there was an error. i guess its because i was on an elevator at work and the wifi signal cant get in there. tried again but its been on 0% for about 10 mins now
     
  25. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    well its done. but why did it delete all of my apps? its like i just took it out of the box but with a different lock screen. and now google says i dont have an email account
     

Share This Page

Loading...