Wanting to root my X with OTA installed - options please :)


Last Updated:

  1. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    EDIT: PROBLEM SOLVED! THANKS TO JDK33, BUT THIS MAY BE USEFUL TO OTHER BEGINNER ROOTEES(sp?:p)

    I WILL KEEP THIS ROLLING THOUGH WITH SIMPLE QUESTIONS, MOSTLY AT THE BOTTOM AND 2nd PAGE.



    Hello, there - well I'll start with my history with Android. Got my X on launch day, ran the first leak .zip and reverted back to push the OTA onto my phone without a single problem (when the leak initially came out I saved all the appropriate files needed to revert before they were blacklisted). I have never rooted on any version of Android. Mainly because I just wasn't familiar enough with the know-how and I'm not going to Verizon crying because I bricked my phone claiming insurance replacement.

    SO - heres the run down, I've been working on PCs since 92, mostly Microsoft based, I'm very familiar with anything up to XP Pro, which I run on most of my machines (until I get a hold of a Windows 7 disc - I don't like Vista at all) I'm also very familiar with DOS commands when OSs used to be DOS based. I want to really get into Android and their operating system and learn a lot more about how it all works, after owning a Storm this really is a large step. I've always been running LP and Fancy Widgets to create the Incredibleist UI (the only thing I liked about the Dinc). I've become pretty familiar with navigating around with Astro, and terminal emulator but as you all know only so much can be achieved when not rooted.

    So now that I've lain out pretty much what I know (now) I want to root my X, which is running the current OTA recently pushed out. I've been browsing xda and looking into the "1 click root" for windows and the Droid 2 root process. The droid 2 process looks more like I would learn more about what I'm doing to the phone opposed to just unpacking a file like the first leak, or "click to root/unroot" for the leaks.

    I have ADB, which I assume is what "pushes" (a new term for me) files to and from the devise, I've updated everything I could on there even though some said obsolete - something like this I like to be prepared, it paid off when I had to revert. I also have RSD lite which I assume is development program for ROMs? I'm just trying to collect every utility that may need down the road.

    Ok, since I've explained where I am currently with Android, I would like to know what your opinions are for which route should I take to root this phone. I am well aware of the risk, and I understand that some terms/files cannot be displayed on public forums. I honestly want to learn A LOT more about Android, and without root I've come to halt to what I can manage and install/change.

    For a beginner with Android but very familiar with Microsoft which route is the safest but at the same time, lets me know whats really going on so I understand the method for future advancements.

    Thank you for reading my book, sorry its so long but I just wanted to explain my knowledge/or lack of to better familiarize the reader with me.

    Thanks in advance! - any clarification needed let me know!
     

    Advertisement
    XBarbarian likes this.
  2. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    I did the Droid 2 root method on mine running the 2.2 OTA

    Droid 2


    I had to run the rageagainstthecage a couple of times before it finally gave me superuser permissions though.

    There may be better/easier ways to do it, but the Droid 2 root method does work.
     
    labeledbass likes this.
  3. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yeah I've seen around here that does work, ever since I started this thread I've explored ADB a little and see how the commands work. Looking around I do noticed that there are several different people posting up instructions/how-tos with the D2 method, some are more detailed - that's what I'm looking for really. I know something with a video with step by step instructions would be great but you can't ask for everything.

    So with the D2 method you don't have wipe your phone correct? in all the lines of instructions I see no where stating so, its basically rebooting with changes/updates and when those apply you gain root access, then you push eveything over, or vise versa.

    One thing, I've seen people mention it needs to be rebooted in clockwork recovery, that I haven't a clue was is.

    Let me explore some more options, I'm on a Vista machine right now but moving over to XP, need to get RSD, ADB and current drivers installed. More later -

    Any more advise or links would be greatly appreciated!

    EDIT: Well this is ironic, I try to install everything on my XP machine and it can't locate the drivers, I switch over to my Vista machine and in PC mode I can't keep debugging up - only in Mass Storage mode. This wasn't a problem at work which is a XP SP3. Any ideas?
     
  4. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Alright, simple question here - is there a how-to on this forum that explains how to root the OTA?

    Everywhere I look I'm redirected to xda, droidlife, ect. which all have different approaches. Some say to remove all moto drivers, install 4.7.x and use windows media sync, some say use PC mode and use the drivers included in embedded dl link - none of which are working, for the life of me I can't get debugging in PC mode or Win sync. If I could do that adb would be simple. My XP machine doesn't even recognize my phone as a X now and this Vista machine automatically updates the most current drivers for the USB -

    From what I read this is simple, but the more I read the more ways there are to do it, different drivers, different USB modes, 1 click, adb push -getting too frustrated...

    I'll be checking back, if anybody out there has a little time on their hands and maybe some direction that would be great. I need to back away from these computers for a bit...

    Thanks in advance

    EDIT Well, when I list devices using ADB devices, my device is shown - does this mean I can push?
     
  5. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yeah, if it's showing up in 'adb devices' that means you can use 'adb push'. I always have to put mine on charge only mode for it to show up.
     
  6. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26

    Thank you so much! The icon isn't in my notification bar but adb is showing numbers and letters after I "list" devices.

    So its ok resume the instructions pushing the correct files and executing the commands?

    Thanks!
     
  7. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yup - If it's not connected properly 'adb push' wont do anything. If the Droid X is showing up in device list you should be good to go to start the process.
     
  8. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    OK I ran the process below -

    How to: Root DROID X Running Official Android 2.2 - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    I installed Wireless tether, which requires root. It didn't open before and now it does. BUT if I browse in Astro OR terminal emulator and I still can't see anything in the "root" folder, I would assume you could see the system folders/files once rooted. Is this normal? I know the step above requires deoxeding(sp) to apply themes, and I haven't changed a thing.
    I just want to know if I do have access to root now,

    And if I am rooted now, I know the method above doesn't included deoxeting(sp), can I just start the command line after root is aquired?

    Like in this link -

    Droid 2 Root for DX OTA 2.2... - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    Basically, the top link is what I have done - am I root, and what's next? I know theres a thread just "what to do next" but this being a batch prompt its not "ordinary", and I feel like I'm kinda in the middle of the process and need to be careful what I do next.

    Thank you so much for your help!

    Thank you in advance!
     
    mrstealthusmc likes this.
  9. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Did you get the "superuser request" dialog when you ran wifi tether? (There is a picture of the dialog in the first link you posted). If you get that dialog, then you're rooted.

    rooting is more of an elevated permission level than anything. I believe you need to get a program called "root explorer" if you want to start looking around at the filesystem on your Droid X. It's similar to Astro.


    As far as the answer to "what next?" goes.. What do you want to do? Many people just get root access and remove bloatware and then leave it at that. I realize some want to mess around until something breaks, but you have to decide what it is you want to do and how far you want to go to do it first, then we can answer your questions from there.
     
  10. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    OK, yes after trying out wifi tether it did bring up the super user access, to both start and stop the service. Great, I'm rooted!

    I completly agree with doing so much you end up messing things up, I'm not even at that point yet, themes ect. I just wanted a sample of what can be done, I will learn as I go and then try new things out. Teather is honestly enough right now, I just want to make sure that this deoxeding(sp) sry, no spell check on this box - isn't an important part of the root process, bloatware I would like to remove, as long as it doesn't effect reboots, and possibly a revert later down the road to un-root.

    Thank you again for all your help! need to go bed, early morning but I will check back at 9est.

    Thanks again!

    ~e
     
  11. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
  12. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Great, really appreciate your help on this - I do love the look of a lot of the themes out there but again, I don't want to over step my boundry with what I don't know in case something goes wrong. I can't iterate baby steps, so far so good - phones running like a champ and I'm learning new things each day.

    Two things though, with my simple root do I need to worry about -

    Clockwork Recovery, or any recovery app/software with my phone the way it is?

    and just so I understand where I'm at, with an updated OTA>rooted theres no turning back at the moment correct? I just want to be prepared and if there is a revert out there, well, prepare myself if I have to do so.

    Again thanks so much for your help - hopefully this may help some other newbs to the root/droid scene -
     
  13. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Clockwork recovery will come in handy if you start installing themes or doing any other heavy modification. It'll let you install custom ROMs, make complete backups that can be restored from recovery, install themes, etc. If you're not doing any of that, don't worry about it.

    Personally I just use Titanium Backup, backup all of my user apps, and then restore them when I wipe my phone.


    If you haven't done anything other than root, I would get TiBackup, make an entire backup of your phone, and then copy it from your sdcard to your PC, or somewhere safe. If you do that almost anything can be undone, including restoring system apps if you accidentally delete them (as long as you don't cause a boot loop by deleting important system apps, lol). From there it's pretty easy to restore all system apps and unroot if you want to turn back the clock.
     
  14. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Ok, again thanks for the help - I've installed tether apparently, and DroCap, and with your suggestion Titanium Backup (start) root.

    When I enter the program, su comes up to verify privileges, I proceed -

    I get this error message -

    "Sorry, I could not acquire root privileges. This application will *not* work ! Please verify that your ROM is rooted and includes BusyBox, and try again."


    I press OK

    == Free Version
    == More features available in Donate version :)


    Root access => FAILED

    Data directory: /data
    External storage: /mnt/sdcard (ok)
    Backup directory: /mnt/sdcard/TitaniumBackup


    At the bottom it has three tabs
    Check for updates -- Problems? -- Donate version $3.99+

    Now I've searched for Busybox via Astro and it is there, located in -
    /system/bin/busybox 1.84M | 09-27 22:10 (the date I rooted)

    Now I know busybox is on the phone, so is Tibackup, why would it give me this message if I'm rooted - tether works fine w/su & so does DroCap w/su, I would assume I'm rooted unless I'm not completely rooted, if there is such a thing.

    Thanks in advance! Will be checking back frequently!

    PS: Going to try a reboot with Tibackup installed and see if that changes anything.

    EDIT: Reboot did the trick - again thanks!
    QUESTION though - right when I open it recommends I download a reliable busybox version, should I do this? I'm not fimiliar with the dev so I don't know if the root process I did included newer/older one that Tibackup is suggesting. Thanks!!!
     
  15. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yeah, I always let it install the newer busybox version, it claims it's faster.
     
  16. white91formula

    white91formula Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    what drivers did you end up installing to get your phone to be recognized on your computer, i am getting frustrated it seems nothing will work for my droid x
     
  17. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    I had to follow these steps to get mine recognized on my Windows 7 PC, I also have to select 'charge only' mode with USB debugging on to get it recognized.

    ADB not working after froyo
     
  18. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    I feel ya, um, honestly I'm not quite sure - on forum, I think xda, had a link for 4.7.x but I ended up using my Vista machine over my XP (simply because the XP didn't even see the phone as a DX) and I'm pretty sure it was the drivers that motorola installed with moto connect, BUT like I mention I never confirmed the version on the vista machine, only the XP - Its recommended that you uninstall all drivers and install the ones provided on motos support page, Motorola Driver Installer.exe.

    I NEVER got debugging to show in the notification tab in PC mode nor sync, only mass storage and charge only. If you read a little back in my post, when your at your command prompt and type adb devises, if anything shows up - your good to go. It saw my device but there was no bug up top, but it pushed all the correct files and installed everything correctly. So if I were you, just see if adb recognizes your device, if so, you can push - nuff said.

    Good luck! I know it can get frustrating!
     
  19. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yeah I was about to edit my post, updated it, checked Unknown Sources and USB debug -

    OK, now that I have TB installed a few questions -

    I see options to "freeze" apps, I've seen this terminology before - I don't want to uninstall anything, unless its positivity confirmed that it won't interfere with the phone. Freezing an app is basically keeping it from running correct? Possibly speeding up the phone or at least clearing some memory?

    I see I can choose to backup any app, I assume a complete backup would be ideal so I can revert back to its current state correct?

    And is it a good idea to use the scheduled backup, or just manually do so, so I can control my own restore points?

    Again thanks for your patience! I know this is a lot of questions, glad theres a helpful hand! :D
     
  20. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Freeze - just removes permissions so the program won't execute. Doesn't move it, uninstall it, or touch its configuration. In theory freezing unused system apps will free up resources and make your phone boot faster. Just make sure you consult the list of apps that can/can't be removed before you go postal.


    Backing up an app will backup the actual executable as well as its configuration files. That makes it ideal for restoring apps when you wipe your phone because it'll restore all of the configuration too.


    Personally I just run a full backup before I make any major changes and dont use the schedule. I don't like stuff happening when I don't expect it.
     
  21. mrstealthusmc

    mrstealthusmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    13
    hi guys, i am totally new at this whole rooting thing as well, and i just want to say that this thread was such a huge help to me. i rooted with no problems at all following everything you did. just dropping in to say thanks!!!
     
  22. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    I feel so lame, I can't even get started...I'm on a Mac and I've downloaded the "DoRootDroid2" and "android-sdk-mac_x86" folders. The instructions say I need to update the android SDK package. I gather that I need to download Java SDK to update it...but when I went to the Java page it gave me the option of what Platform to download. Should I be downloading Linux, Linux, Intel Itanium, Linux x64, or?

    Also, in this step:

    3. Navigate to the tools folder of your android-sdk
    [cd /android-sdk-linux_x86/tools]
    4. enter [chmod 0755 doroot.sh] then run it [./doroot.sh]

    Am I navigating and entering the commands on my Mac or on my phone?
     
  23. CaucasionJ

    CaucasionJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    16
  24. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37


    I'm on a Mac too, and I never had to install Java.. I *think* OSX already has Java. I just ran android-sdk-mac_x86/tools/android and installed the required packages, then ran adb.

    As far as your questions about where to enter the commands, you enter those in Terminal on your Mac.



    Another thing, I checked out that root method, and honestly other than saving you from having to type or copy/paste a few commands it does the exact same thing as I mentioned previously (http://rootzwiki.com/index.php/Smartphones/Motorola/Droid-2.html) , only it's a whole lot more confusing due to the wall of text in the XDA post. That and if something goes wrong with the shell script provided it's more difficult for us to help you.
     
  25. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37

Share This Page

Loading...