Wanting to try out ROM's on Froyo


Last Updated:

  1. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am new to this whole rooting thing and I have already rooted my Motorola Droid 1 and it is running STOCK Android 2.2 (Froyo). How do I get a ROM such as Ultimate Droid 1.0.0 onto the phone? I already have backed up my apps and contacts with Astro. Can anyone give me a tutorial or walk me through on how to do this since I have 2.2 and not 2.0 or 2.1?

    Thanks,
    Spartan948265
     

    Advertisement
  2. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    spartan948265 likes this.
  3. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    1,599
    How to Root, flash a ROM, theme, and install a new Kernel in 16 easy steps:

    1. Download SoupOrRoot 2.04 to your computer and follow the directions in that thread.
    2. Download Titanium Backup and ROM Manager from the android market.
    3. Update any apps that need it.
    4. Use Titanium Backup to backup your apps (it will save all the info to your SD card)
    5. Open ROM Manager on your phone and select "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery"
    6. from ROM Manager, select "Backup Current ROM". (name it something like Froyo, Stock, etc. so you will be able to go back to it if needed).
    7. reboot, then use ROM manager to select/download a new ROM from the "Download ROM" section. popular ones are CyanogenMod, BuglessBeast, LiquidFrozenYogurt, and UltimateDroid. many others are available around the web, but 4 are tried and true.
    8. turn your phone off and reboot into recovery (hold physical keyboard "x" + power button), navigate to the "nandroid" section using the D-pad, click "restore" and make sure your backup is there. if it is not; reboot, go back into ROM manager, and try to make another backup, or backup directly from the recovery screen (this will not allow you to use custom names).
    9. use DEL to get back to the main recovery menu and select "wipe data/factory reset" and "wipe cache partition", i run the wipes 2-3 times each but it is not absolutely necessary.
    10. go back to the recovery home screen and select "install zip from SD card" and select the one you downloaded in ROM manager. your new ROM will begin installing.
    11. once it has finished, reboot your phone and make sure everything is working properly.
    12. use ROM manager to create another Backup, remember to use a name you will recognize (i suggest the name of your new ROM). if you are not going to install a different kernel or theme, skip to step 16.


    THE FOLLOWING STEPS ARE ONLY NECESSARY IF YOU WANT TO INSTALL THEMES AND/OR NEW KERNELS.

    13. theming your new ROM is the next (optional) step. you will likely need to download the theme from the internet, although ROM manager does have some built in that you can choose from. MAKE SURE THE THEME YOU DOWNLOAD WORKS WITH THE ROM YOU ARE USING!! download the zip file to your SD card, and reboot into recovery and select "install zip from sdcard" just as you did with the ROM.
    14. reboot, test, and create another backup with ROM manager. if you are not going to install a new kernel, skip to step 16.
    15. installing a new kernel is the last (optional) step. there are a few available in ROM manager for download to your SD card and even more floating around the web. keep in mind that all droids are different, while some can run ultra low voltage 1.2 gHz kernels and some can't even run standard voltage 800mHz ones, so you will probably have to try a few and see what works for you. THIS IS WHY BACKUPS ARE IMPORTANT! i also recommend saving several kernels utilizing different speeds, voltages, and developers to your SD card so that if one causes you to go into a boot loop while loading, you can simply reboot into recovery, load the next one, and try again. once you have chosen a few you would like to try, reboot into recovery, select "install zip from sdcard" and load the kernel.

    16. if everything is working well, reload your icons and account settings, create one last backup and enjoy! if not, reboot into recovery, select "nandroid" then "restore", re-load the last working backup, and try again.


    REMEMBER THAT BACKUPS ARE YOUR BEST FRIEND!! When installing a new ROM+theme+kernel, i end up with 4 backup images on my SD card. As an example; i currently have backups named Froyo, BuglessV5, BuglessV5Themed, and BuglessV5Chevy1.1ULV. As long as you have a working image to fall back on, there is virtually no chance of "bricking" your device.
     
    spartan948265 likes this.
  4. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ________________________________________________________________
    Hi! thanks for giving me the walk through, right now I am trying to choose the Ultimate Droid ROM 1.0.0 on there website. But I tried going through the "Download ROM's" section (In ROM Manager 2.5.0.4) and I see many different versions of Ultimate droid. I did download the archive file of the Droid 1.0.0 Rom off of there website. Should I just choose that and install it off of my SDCard?

    Also I successfully did a complete backup of everything you said and more, and everything checks out backup wise.
     
  5. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    No No NO those are OLD Android 2.0.1 and 2.1 ROMs. Ultimate Droid will not be in ROM Manager. Go to their website, download to the PC and then move it to the SD card. Wipe thrice and install in Recovery.
     
    spartan948265 likes this.
  6. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said, I downloaded THE latest version off of their website (1.0.0). So I just choose that from the SD Card section in ROM Manager right? Alright I just chose the version off of the SD card and now It asked me to wipe data and all that. So I checked the boxes and now its restarting the phone and unpacking.
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    Okay, as long as you're not DLing from within ROM Manager. Go into ROM Manager and Install from SD card. Wipe!

    I've never done it that way, I guess I'm old school and always install ROMs in Recovery. But that should do the trick.
     
    spartan948265 likes this.
  8. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I put the update on the root directory of the SD Card, I tried selecting the "Update from Update.zip" option by I get the (No such file or directory). Should I quit out and rename the file to update.zip ?
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    What recovery are you using? If SPRecovery then yes, you must rename it update.zip. Renaming it wouldn't hurt if you use ClockworkMod.
     
    spartan948265 likes this.
  10. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    YAYY! Alright I fixed it and I have now successfully switched to Ultimate Droid 1.0.0. Is there anything else I needs to do? besides restoring my apps and registering with Google?
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    YAYYY:D

    If you use SetCPU then go into Settings--> Ultimate Droid--> Performance Settings and turn OFF "Enble CPU Frequency Scaling". Also, if you use the volume rocker a lot for music, go to Settings--> Ultimate Droid--> Audio Settings and turn OFF the "Volume Button Music Control".

    Other than that, have fun exploring Ultimate Droid! :D
     
  12. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKS! :D. Also since there is a built-in OC method for the Droid I will just use that one and get my money back from Set CPU.
     
  13. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    If it matters any to you, I think SetCPU is much better. You can set up profiles to auto change your speeds based on certain criteria. For example, I have one set so that when my battery goes below 30% my max speed automatically goes down to 550Mhz and when I'm plugged into AC power, my max speed automatically goes to 1100Mhz. My normal setting is 1000Mhz max and 250Mhz min.

    These types of profiles can really help you get the most out of your phone and help save battery life, especially when you get stuck with less than 30% battery and no charger.

    Kratos
     
  14. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    ... not to mention the fact that the next "ultimate" ROM may not have its own CPU governor. Probably will, but Gingerbread may change everything once it hits.
     
    kratos likes this.
  15. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    That should have been one of the first things I said, but I didn't even think about that.

    Come to think of it now, I don't think any other ROM has it's own CPU governor. (Correct me if I'm wrong on that, I haven't tried all of them yet)

    Kratos
     
  16. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH I forgot! Does this ROM have Adobe Flash 10.1?
     
  17. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    It's based on 2.2 so just search adobe on the market and download it.

    Kratos
     
  18. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will Ultimate Droid work on the Droid 2
     
  19. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    As far as I can tell, it is only for Droid 1 (the version you have) and Droid Inc (a different version, same ROM, but made for the Inc).

    Kratos
     
  20. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    My apps are tending to force close a lot such as the standard Browser. Is there anything I can do to medicate this?
     
  21. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    In ROM Manager, you will see Fix Permissions. Use that to fix the permissions of the files and it usually fixes about 99% of all FC's. I haven't had a single FC since I started using fix permissions.

    Kratos
     
  22. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that and the browser still forces closes. I reset all options back to there defaults and it still forces closes. Should I try the other browser that comes with the ROM? I will also now redo the permissions thing you suggested, maybe it missed something.
     
  23. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    Well, I'm not sure. I use Dolphin Browser HD and haven't used the default browser for more than six months. I will use the default browser today and see if I ever get any FC's.

    Is there anything specific that you do that can recreate this issue? Are there any trends that you have noticed about this issue (such as it only happens when you go to settings, open multiple web pages, etc)?

    Kratos
     
  24. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,696
    If you're referring to the browser force closing when you try to close the LAST browser window, it is a known issue with UD1.0 and BlackDroid is aware of it. Hopefully will be fixed in the next update.
     
    kratos likes this.
  25. spartan948265

    spartan948265 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES that is the one im talkin about.
     

Share This Page

Loading...