1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

WapSupport


Last Updated:

  1. vanderlej

    vanderlej Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I got my i7500 two days a go and I'm still getting familiar with it and I need some help.
    It seems to me that there is no WAP.
    So, how do I connect to internet if there is no WiFi signal?
    This is the first of many, many, many wonderful questions and I thank you for answering!
     

    Advertisement
  2. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    just get the apn settings from your provider, it will help.

    btw there is GPRS/EDGE/3G support on your phone.
     
  3. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    You need to check your mobile company's website for its gprs/edge/3G settings, and enter them under wireless settings - APN (sorry don't have the phone right here to check, but you'll find it)
     
    vanderlej likes this.
  4. vanderlej

    vanderlej Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!
    That worked!
    But I have another problem now.
    I manage to connect with the APN the I created, but I cannot disconnect! I click on the option button near my APN and nothing happens. "EDGE network connected" icon is showing all the time!
     
  5. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    if you have background data enabled and/or auto sync on it will connect anytime it needs ;)



    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy running GalaxHero using Tapatalk
     
    vanderlej likes this.
  6. vanderlej

    vanderlej Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wouldn't it be better to turn on or off the APN?
    I suppose battery consumption is higher this way and since I have no track of when it connects I can't track the amount of my data package used. Charge is higher when package is used up!
     
  7. lazarus101

    lazarus101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Install apndroid and you can easily switch the apn on or off. But while the apn is disabled you won't be able to receive emails
     
    vanderlej likes this.
  8. vanderlej

    vanderlej Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Thanks!
    Also I figured out that some kind of a solution would be to make a little change to proxy number and/or APN name, e.g. 123.456.789.123 to 123.456.789.12 or
    internet.operator.com to internet.operator.co
    It maybe not be the smartest solution, but it works for me...:)
     
  9. lazarus101

    lazarus101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    apndroid is doing something similar but it has a widget so it's a lot faster than manually editing the apn :)
     
  10. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    ftfy ;)
     
  11. andigloftindo

    andigloftindo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    If there's No WIFI, and GPRS cost is too much, what should I do?
    Is there anyway to connect internet from desktop?

    Cheers,

    Andi
     
  12. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    From desktop you cant. If it was a laptop youd could make a wifi Ad-hoc spot. Or you can just buy a wi fi router, its 30$. And this phone is useless without internet.
     
  13. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    So not true.
    There is always a use for Galaxy even without internet. :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...