Warning for users of Verizon Backup Assistant


Last Updated:

  1. SupraLance

    SupraLance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    30
    I just learned the hard way that Backup Assistant only saves phone numbers with standard labels, and only 1 for each label. This means if you have a contact with 2 numbers labeled "mobile", backup assistant only saves the first. If you changed the second label to something non-standard, like "backup mobile" or "spouse's mobile", it will not be saved. If you have contacts labeled "voice" (all my imported Vcards were labeled "voice"), they will not be backed up.

    In my case, it only saved 1 of each number labeled mobile, home, or business and allowed me to believe all contacts were successfully backed up. Most of my contacts no longer have phone numbers associated with them (because these were labeled "voice" or had some custom tag). The rest have only some of the numbers they had previously. Do not count on this "service" for backing up your information.
     

    Advertisement
  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,847
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    Why would you even use it when there is Google cloud sync for free?
     
  3. pool_shark

    pool_shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    540
    There is no charge for using backup assistant.

    I don't sync my contacts at all. I export them to my SD card.
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,847
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    Still, if you ARE going to use a cloud sync, there is nothing that comes close to Google's built in function.
     
  5. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    2,280
    Then, I hope, you back that up to your PC.
    I periodically export my Google contacts and calendars to my laptop, I'd hate to loose them all (like a Sidekick thing!). I also back my phone's card up on my laptop, learned that the hard way after loosing a few videos when the card wouldn't read right. Oh well, I'd rather be safe than sorry now.
     
  6. pool_shark

    pool_shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    540
    Yes, I backup my SD card to my PC ever time I change something.
    My contacts are also on my work PC.
     
  7. SupraLance

    SupraLance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    30
    @ Iowa, All my contacts are Google contacts now, stored on my Google account. I'm new to Android and tried to use Backup Assistant to move my contacts to my first Android phone.

    @ Pool Shark, If you used the built-in contact export function, I suggest you check the data in that file to see if it has the same issues as Backup Assistant regarding what it saves and does not. Would suck for you if it is doing the same thing, and this might be a limitation of the phone's built-in Contacts app.
     
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    540
    I have changed to 2 different SD cards and imported the contacts with no problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...