[Warning] Official 2.1


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    This is a warning/heads up/etc to everyone regarding the 2.1 Update.

    If you are rooted or have any plans to root:

    DO NOT INSTALL THE OFFICIAL 2.1 Update!

    The Official 2.1 update does not have root and as of right now there is No way to gain root access. If you flash this, you will loose root if you have it, and prevent yourself from rooting if you ever plan to.

    If everyone will be patient and not jump on the "2.1 is Out" bandwagon, you will be much happier :).

    We already have 99.9%-100% working 2.1 ROM's. Now that we know this is the official release, any little thing that needs fixed will be. Just be patient and wait :).

    ****************************************​
    Moderation edit:

    FYI- Root has now been achieved. Please disregard this thread, the information is no longer valid.
    *********************************************​
     

    Advertisement
  2. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I will remove this from Sticky status once root has been achieved on the new update.

    Thanks,
    Nick325i
     
    redclay, dahamn and ccapasso like this.
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Thanks for the Sticky :)
     
  4. hunterx119

    hunterx119 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just read this after i updated officially... :( oh well, i guess i will just have to wait until they figure out a way to root while using the official update image..
     
  5. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    Flipz confirmed that the official release has the same MD5 checksum as the leak he built 2.1.1 from. Sooooooooooooo there ya have it.. 2.1.1 is built off the official release.. before it was released :D
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    So..... I've been running the official for 3days?
    :D
     
  7. ahmadshawki

    ahmadshawki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    I already rooted. I just wanted to try it and feel the difference myself. Anyway, that is a very bad news. As someone mentioned above, I'll have to wait...
     
  8. dragonziggy

    dragonziggy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If there are any Dev's out there who want to figure out how to Root the official 2.1, I'm positive there are plenty of people who have 2.1 who would be willing to do whatever you need to figure it out...

    Plus now that it's official... anyone who gets a new Hero or a replacement is likely going to have 2.1 on it straight from sprint.
     
  9. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Not 100% for sure that the Hero will be shipping out with 2.1. Still waiting on confirmation from Sprint on this. Some people are speculating this will not happen as the EVO is due to release June 4th, at which point Hero sales will decrease significantly.

    Only time will tell.
     
  10. dragonziggy

    dragonziggy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    True story... But I know my own plans and I'm not made of Money so I'll be sitting on my Hero for at least another year minimum. So it would certainly be nice to have the option to root the official of 2.1. For me anyway.
     
  11. yaketyblah

    yaketyblah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    The hero isnt going anywhere. New phones just drop the price of the old ones and get them in even more hands. I for one would pay for a root option. Any dev interested hit me up. Any one willing to chip in post here. Leta get this thing rooted. I would prefer the official release and tweak it myself.
     
  12. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Agreed
     
  13. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    It was speculated they would lock the root. I can't understand anyone that rooted and would go back. I am running Damages 2. 1 and reading people talking about the "official" 2.1 confirms I made the right decision. Besides, we waited forever for that release and when do you think the next one will be out? Those that have root access can look forward to constant improvements and tweaks.
    I'm happy to be on the dark side and I'm not going back........ ;)
     
  14. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Id like to be able to go back. I doubt they locked it.
     
  15. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    lol.. don't doubt it.. they patched the hole that we were using to root our phones.. so if you upgraded using the official patch, rooting at this time is not an option for you. for those that were rooted and did NOT update with the official patch, Fresh 2.1.1 was built off the last leak before official. Flipz confirmed via MD5 Checksums that the official and the leak just prior to official are in fact the exact same. I'm not sure if DC 2.0.8.1 was built off that leak or not. if not, then an update should be coming soon.
     
  16. ahmadshawki

    ahmadshawki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    A quick question...
    After I upgraded to the official 2.1, can I setup the previous RUU (the 1.xx) and then root again?
     
  17. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    No.....
     
  18. JRally

    JRally Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    My replacement Hero comes Monday (just went into the store today and the one I have is screwed) so we'll see what version it comes with. I very much hope it is still 1.5
     
  19. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    Whew, glad I read this before I updated my sister's hero :)
     
  20. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    I understand, but im sure all the genius' will find a new hole. Just give a few weeks.
     
  21. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Now is the time to sit back, take a few "patience pills", and wait until you know you can roll a seven on the come-out roll !!!! ;) If you are rooted, stay that way. It will pay off.

    Cheers --- Bob --- :D
     
  22. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sage advice Bob...............

    I'm staying rooted!

    Lisa. :D
     
  23. yaketyblah

    yaketyblah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a matter of time before there is a root option for this. Evo will have the same software and boot loader.
     
  24. IneedaNap

    IneedaNap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so this update will not happen while i sleep right? Is there a box i need to check to make sure this doesnt happen?
     
  25. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    No it won't and no there isn't. The update must be downloaded and applied.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...