[Warning] Sprint Official 2.1 RUU


Last Updated:

  1. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Just a heads up. It looks like even though 2.1 was rooted for the Hero, Sprint has now made a patch. Not only is there an OTA update that breaks the root, but apparently Sprint is pulling a sneaky one; They went and updated the RUU on the download page, but did not change the name of it. The old RUU for 2.1 was version 2.27.651.5. When downloaded the new RUU from Sprint is 2.27.651.6, which root is patched.
     

    Advertisement
    nevergonnauseth likes this.
  2. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    i am rooted with fresh 2.1.2 already. how do i disable updates? dont want to wake up one morning and find out my phone has been updated.
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    You came from 1.5 right? I think you should be ok. If for whatever reason you got prompted for a System Update, just don't do it :).
     
  4. NotSure

    NotSure Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is sneaky, I downloaded the .5 version earlier today, when I looked back now I saw the file is .6
     
  5. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    ya i came from 1.5. where would one find the original official 2.1 .5 update from now that sprint has put .6 up on their website?
     
  6. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    There is a link I found over on xda, don't have it handy at this very second. You shouldn't need it anyways as you are already rooted :)
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Stickied

    FWIW, the OTA update is rumored to patch serious security risks with 2.1. It appears as though closing root was a result.
     
  8. simkin101

    simkin101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got the .5 loaded on my Hero. I just went into SETTINGS-->About-->System updates-->HTC Update and noticed that there is a setting to turn off auto-updates. It seems that this will make the OTA (over the air) update stop.

    Just thought I'd give you a heads up!
     
    krozetp likes this.
  9. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    thanks for the post, I was planing on rooting this week and I saw the update and checked this site first, I am glad I did and I turned off the auto update. and I still have the .5 2.1

    now where to start rooting?????????
     
  10. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    thefley likes this.
  11. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    you all are the best!!! thx
     
  12. shamrock11

    shamrock11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted, but my phone messed up in the process so I figured out how to unroot with the new OTA update. Now, I'm having the same problems before I rooted, LAG! The reason I unrooted is because after flashing Fresh 2.1.2, my phone still lagged and the startup took 10x longer. I HATED THE DANCING ROBOT AND COULD NOT FLASH ANOTHER BOOT IMAGE. My question is, is there a way to go back to the old RUU and root again? Also, is there a way to flash the Nexus One boot logo/image after I root? If so, please tell me how to do it. Thank you.
     
  13. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    what version are you currently running? if you updated to the new sprint release with the root patch then you cant root.
     
  14. coolwhiz

    coolwhiz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a new Sprint phone, its set of auto-update and as I see now, it runs 2.27.651.6

    Does this mean that I can never root my phone and I will be stuck with 2.1 Android? One reason I want to root is to install Froyo. I am new to Android but I am a java dev. with some knowledge of the SDK.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  15. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    You should be able to root, if you run the ruu the original Sprint 2.1 release, that should be available if you search this forum or xda...

    Here--> post #127 http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc...tc-hero-2-1-update-now-5-19-sprint-com-3.html
     
    coolwhiz likes this.
  16. Cstevens

    Cstevens Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well bummer Deal I just checked my software version and its the 2.27.651.6

    So you can flash backwards to a older/different version of 2.1? Is that what im understanding your saying?

    Really want to root my phone. Or will someone most likely get around this patch?
     
  17. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    This has been fixed now, sort of. You can run the old 2.1 RUU (the .5 version) and then you can root your phone. Read the 2.1 thread for more info/links.
     

Share This Page

Loading...