Was your update to Froyo successful?


Was your froyo update successful?

  1. Yes - works fine, many improvements!

    84.6%
  2. No - I have froyo but I have other problems on my phone now!

    15.4%

Last Updated:

  1. duhprest

    duhprest Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally have many problems, including battery life that has decreased greatly (hardly lasts a day!) as well as others.

    Did you have any problems with your update?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    186
    If your battery life is bad, one of your apps isn't playing nicely with Froyo. Download 'Spare Parts' from the market, and use it to check what's using your battery by opening it, going to battery history, and selecting 'Partial Wake Usage' from the top drop down box. Money on the fact something in there is using a huge amount.
     
  3. duhprest

    duhprest Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well there are many problems, including the weather app not showing the weather on the widget on the home screen, the internet working inconsistently or not at all (both wifi and mobile internet) as well as other problems here and there. I've done a factory reset but its still the same.
     
  4. duhprest

    duhprest Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, nothing huge using up the battery which is strange.

    I also don't have the "update all" button in the market under downloads.
     
  5. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    186
    Well currently 90% of the voters have said it's gone smoothly, so it's obviously something on your phone rather than the update in general for the battery issue. It's just a matter of figuring out what!
     
  6. fried

    fried Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    42
    No real issues here, other than a couple of things that also happened on 2.1 (fluctuating signal strength and the weather app not working properly). Those things could be T-Mobile/HTC related though, rather than issues with Android itself.
     
  7. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    There's another thread about the latest facebook update keeping the phone awake and killing the battery. If you have installed that update you could try uninstalling it to see if that helps.
     
  8. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Am I the only T-mobile UK user who has flashed to 2.2 who does not have a single problem?

    seriously my phone is awesome now, please feel free to ask me to test anything I can provide screen footage.

    Paul
     
  9. traustie

    traustie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Camcorder doesn't work, though the camera works fine. Have restarded and factory defaulted the phone and still it doesn't work. And the signal has been seriously degraded. This really bugs me.:mad:
     
  10. mattrey

    mattrey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    cudnt agree move my fone is awesome now no problems battery is great.
     
  11. Wlliam.

    Wlliam. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    57
    I have the same battery issue.

    It now discharges 2% per hour on standby while with 2.1 only was 1%

    Other than that everything is fine.
     
  12. Steve_S_T

    Steve_S_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    The strangest thing that I've found is that Google's "Listen" app didn't seem to recognise my account and wouldn't open. However, after leaving it running all night I came back this morning and it fired up perfectly and refreshed my accounts. Perhaps it's just a slow starter, but I hope it doesn't want 36 hours to open next time!
     
  13. jgrove

    jgrove New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just had to find the correct rom for the phone, once i did the update was a breeze.

    All running fine, apart from the DHCP wifi problem, but i think its a 2.2 bug.
     
  14. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    135
    generally some of the new features work well - wifi hotspot and apps to sd/sdMOVE.

    Bluetooth doesnt connect now to tomtom handsfree though.
     
  15. duhprest

    duhprest Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone isn't t mobile - its an unbranded phone from 3
     
  16. chips

    chips Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have an unbranded phone from 3 and everything seems to be working well so far. The update went well the only thing I had to do was set the mobile intenet settings again.



    Chips
     
  17. petehtc

    petehtc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    no mine wasn't - it bricked my phone and so now I'm without my htc desire and have gone back to my blackberry - and guess what... vodafone do not want to know!!!
     
  18. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    186
    Were you rooted before the upgrade? If so, I contend that YOU bricked your phone. If not, contact HTC and ask them what the hell went wrong.
     
  19. petehtc

    petehtc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    wasnt rooted before, no.
     
  20. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    I find this hard to believe - my t-mobile has been rom'd using the chaps instructions and my phone work 100% nothing fails?
    Am I really the only one?

    what prove would you all like to see?
    I am more than happy to provide screen shots

    2.2 flashed on my t-mobile UK desire is working BETTER than t-mobile's rom
    FACT
    sorry - i am sorry that your are having issues but i cannot fault it!
    begs the question

    Why?

    i dont know it just works.
     
  21. patterw

    patterw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. Failed upon installation on my Droid. Tried soft boot. Tried factory reset. Just hangs at the M logo. They are shipping me a new phone which won't arrive until Wednesday (!) earliest. I'll take any suggestions in the meantime if anyone has any.
     

Share This Page

Loading...