Watching movies on DInc? And MotoDroid TS :(Support


Last Updated:

  1. sucker4pa1n

    sucker4pa1n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    So I tried googling and poking through a ton of different forums (this one, nexusone forums, etc.) regarding formatting video to be used on the DInc. The general consensus was to use Handbrake with the iPhone settings to convert video. But... that was taking FOREVER.

    What is weird is that I bought the Sandisk 32GB card, and I put a number of copies of the new season of Dr Who on it (all avi's, unsure what codecs were used for it though). They're all smaller than the native resolution of the phone (something like 366xsomething). But neither Meridian nor DoubleTwist can play them. I wasn't sure if it was card related, so I moved the files off the card onto the phone (which took forever, btw) and it still would freeze up opening the video. So I'm guessing I'm still going to have to convert the files, which is fine - but does anyone know of software better than Meridian to do so?

    It's funny, I watched the entirety of Clerks on my LG Voyager (after converting it to 3gp or whatever that weird format was...), and doing that seemed simpler than watching vids on my DInc. ;)

    ... as an aside, we were watching the iPhone4 vs EVO video on my fiance's MotoDroid, standing outside a VzW store talking it up with an old co-worker of mine from when I used to work there, and the video froze. She shut it off, then turned it back on, and it started power cycling (M loop, whatever you want to call it). I spent 3 hours digging through forums looking for a way to recover her phone without factory reset, couldn't get anything to work, so we factory reset and it continued to power cycle. Totally bricked. Anyone know if this is normal?

    We already ordered a replacement phone for her, as it was stock to begin with. Just find it rather weird... especially since it had happened shortly after we installed the latest version of LauncherPro on her phone. I guess the inner-troubleshooter in me is determined to figure out the cause-- especially if LauncherPro and/or YouTube interacted funny, I thought it'd be a really useful thing to give to the developers.

    Also, I do apologize as I could've easily split this into the MotoDroid forum and then here, but I'm kind of in a rush (prepping for my brother's wedding in *2* days! ZOMG)
     

    Advertisement
  2. aznfishyfart

    aznfishyfart Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    i use act 1 video and never had a problem with the videos i convert with handbrake (any resolution even smaller than native)
    the only downside is that the app is 2$ (the only app ive ever paid for)
     
    sucker4pa1n likes this.
  3. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    try rockplayer, the free works fine for me
    plays avi, and many other formats without converting
    sorry rockplayer is a player not converter

    I have not heard of probs like that due to launcher pro
    the dev is very helpful, if you have more techy questions drop him a email

    converter...http://www.easy-video-converter.com/index.html#
     
    sucker4pa1n likes this.
  4. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    Handbrake works just fine for me. I have several feature length movies on my phone right now. The Inc can read 3GP, so convert to 3GP if you find that easier.
     
  5. sucker4pa1n

    sucker4pa1n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    Wow, Rock Player(ARMv7) worked right off the bat without a hitch. That's amazing. o_O I guess it was definitely a codec issue. :) Damn thing looks beautiful too!

    Hah, now this sucks, stock battery with a total of 40GB of storage space. Looks like the extended battery will be my next big purchase... ;P

    Hey aznfishyfart, how long does it take you to convert videos? It seemed to take forever (literally close to 3 hours for one file using handbrake and iPhone default settings. Close to a 500MB file for one episode of Dr Who).
     
  6. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104

    An episode is about 45 minutes right? That would take me about 20 minutes, if not less.

    Depends on your computer, or something is wrong in your settings or who knows what. What are your PC specs?
     
  7. sucker4pa1n

    sucker4pa1n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    I only have access to my HP Mini 311 right now. Even though it's OC'd to 2GHz I'd still bet it's the Atom N270 causing the slowness. Or it could be a few other things with this netbook. *shrug* still runs tons faster than my fiancee's matching one!

    Once I get off of leave I'll have access to my laptop which has quite a bit more juice, and my desktop which... is old. Shuttle PC with a Athlon XP 2400+ Mobile proc in it. lol!

    I'm a bit behind the times on technology, I blame being broke.
     
  8. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    That's probably the difference. I have a 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Quad processor clocked up to 3.6Ghz on liquid cooling. My PC crunches through multiple movies at a time. Some converters actually use all four cores and I let them process by themselves.
     

Share This Page

Loading...