• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Water Tight Integrity

john58ford

Nov 1, 2011
Washington
Hi all, first post;
I am new to android and picked up the commando, first off I am not a fan boy of any certain OS, I Migrated from WinMo based solely on hardware. I will be learning the OS as I go so look for me in other threads as I wander.

So I have been reading around the web and in this forum even that people have had issues with water tight integrity with the commando. First off, I am an active duty electronics technician in a seagoing service and have some insight about this topic in general, I am not endorsing this phone specifically from a professional standpoint
So here are the points:

1. The commando is MILSPEC: True, But

John, I wouldn't have done what you did, but , in the shower?? OK, but for me that's a tad over the top unless your just testing it out maybe, but still!
I got the phone simply because of it's super build quality and was tired of finding screen scratches, dust under screen, tired of having to baby my other devices, etc, etc.
It is super solid and gives me no worries. I feel I'm becoming addicted to fantastic build quality now and may never be able to comfortably go backwards in that regard.
My commando won't be going diving on purpose, but an accidental toilet or pool, or creek drop might not ruin my phone and I really, really like that feature. I have heard of some who have done vid recording underwater and then suffered some garbled ear piece sound issue, so just beware out there.
Thanks for your interesting post. :)

Upvote 0
My commando won't be going diving on purpose, but an accidental toilet or pool, or creek drop might not ruin my phone and I really, really like that feature.

TOILET? :eek:
I think that one would be a deal breaker for me Cbreze.
No, it may not technically ruin the phone,
but I don't think I could ever bring that devise near my mouth again