Way to turn off 3G?Support


Last Updated:

  1. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46
    In one of the threads someone was mentioning that turning off data helped save battery life. I'm not sure if I understand what that means. Is it the same as turning off Background data, or is there another setting that would completely turn off 3G?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    Hey thanks for helping out a noob guys.

    Well I found out that you can not completely turn off 3G. The best you can do is turn off Background data, which is what I thought. The reason I got confused was, someone in another thread said they turned data on and off as needed, so they could do things like check email. Well you can leave background data turned off, and your email will still get checked according to how your preferences are setup.
     
  3. Toast95135

    Toast95135 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you download the app Quick Settings you can turn off 3G, there are other apps that probably do the same but that's what I use. I usually turn off 3G at night, when I'm watching a movie or charging and not using the phone.
     
    gme109 likes this.
  4. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    Thanks! That should help battery life considerably.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750

    Man... tough crowd. Some of us have jobs and work, give us more than an hour or two next time!!! :)

    As stated above, Quick Settings is an easy way to disable your data (and save some battery).
     
  6. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    I posted this question in another thread and got no response, so I was beginning to wonder if I was invisible or something. Sorry for being a putz.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    No worries, I hadn't seen the other post, I wasn't aware that you posted it twice. :)
     
  8. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    It's a shame it's not as simple on something that isn't Sense. Would toggle it from the power button on my evo.
     
  9. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    I can't figure out how to make quick settings work. I downloaded it, but it I can't find it anywhere on the phone. Don't know what the hell I did wrong.
     
  10. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    is it listed as installed in the downloads section of the market?
     
  11. sleipner

    sleipner Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    quick settings shows up in the notification bar, pull it down. download quick battery and it puts a widget on your screen that gives battery % and when tapped will shorcut to another app, such as quick settings :)
     
    gme109 likes this.
  12. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    It was weird, it was listed in the downloaded apps, but it wouldn't install. It wasn't only that app though. The update for Google Maps and Voice were also in limbo. When I got home, I re-downloaded on WiFi, and it worked fine. Strange.
     
  13. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    have had that issue before. switching to wireless or just a power cycle does the trick. It's frustrating.
     
  14. saccityp

    saccityp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a easier way to do this. its under your stock widgets and it turns just the internet off, so that you can still receive phone calls and texts.
     
  15. harpstar

    harpstar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which stock widget? "Power Control"? There is no data connection disable option with that one.
     
  16. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    If you use juice defender it also comes with a widget to toggle 3g.
     
  17. rsage

    rsage Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm using a SwitchPro widget to toggle 3G
     
  18. geovoice

    geovoice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,
    Thanks for the info on the thread; I tried a couple of the apps you all suggested, and settled on SwitchPro. I own an Epic and I was really surprised that switching off the 3G wasn't an option; so far, that and setting the screen brightness lower have saved me a TON on battery power. Thanks for the info. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...