Weather app temperature notification in task barSupport


Last Updated:

  1. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    58
    Has anyone found a weather app that is stable with respect to the temperature notification in the task bar? I've tested several and in all cases, the notification runs fine initially, but it eventually goes away and does not reappear unless I run the app. Stock GNex.
     

    Advertisement
  2. concreteguy

    concreteguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    1Weather(free) has a temperature in the notification bar. I've been using it for at least 2+ weeks and it is still working. Not the best app(a bit slow), but unlike Weather Channel, it doesn't need access to my camera, phone, or contacts.
     
  3. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    58
    1weather was the latest one I tried without success. The notification disappears spontaneously for me.
     
  4. concreteguy

    concreteguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not sure what your doing, but I've got 59 degrees showing on mine. Mine is set to refresh every 3 hours. I even get weather alerts from 1Weather and WeatherBug in my notification bar(WB is much better at this)
     
  5. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    969
    I have tried MANY weather apps and never once had a problem with the temp in the notification area.
     
  6. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    58
    That's really weird. I've had this problem since day one when I got the phone. It was never an issue with my previous phones (Tbolt, Inc., Eris, all stock).
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    I use WeatherBug with no issues.
     
  8. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    If you don't mind rooting, aokp (rom) has it baked in. :)
     
    foo likes this.
  9. youngzayiles

    youngzayiles Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use the paid version of beautiful widgets. No problems at all.
     
  10. cvu524

    cvu524 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Using the paid version of Beautiful Widgets too. No issues whatsoever. Stock Verizon GNex....
     
  11. litrekid

    litrekid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    Weather bug here. No problems.
     
  12. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    42
    I use be weather pro with no problems. Just make sure if you are still using a task killer to exclude it from your list.
     
  13. quiklives

    quiklives Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    195
    There's no reason to be using a task killer to begin with, and plenty of reason not to.
     
  14. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    150
    there i fixed that quote for you.
    and a task killer what my one guess as to why its doing this.

    i have used a couple different apps to do this, and they all worked just fine for me.
     
    quiklives likes this.
  15. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    Weatherbug Elite :)
     
  16. streetfish

    streetfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    23
    accuweather
     
  17. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    58
    I have never used a task killer, so that isn't it, although I agree that something must be killing it since I'm apparently the only user having this issue. I have now tried Be Weather, accuweather, TWC, 1weather, and weather bug (all free versions) and the temperature notification gets killed in each case, usually after a few hours. My other notifications persist in the notification bar without issue -- my battery level notification and alarm clock, for example. Really frustrating.
     
  18. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Have you changed any of the "Developer Options" on the phone, such as "Don't keep activities" or "Background process limit"?
     
  19. Outatime

    Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    647
    +1 for WeatherBug Elite. I've used that since my old BB days and love it.
     
  20. bjtcars

    bjtcars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    29
    Agreed I think I've tried them all (and keep checking out the new ones) but always rely on Weatherbug elite.
     
  21. jackdubl

    jackdubl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    111
    Just curious, but what is the point of a weather app that updates every three hours? Mine is set to every fifteen minutes.
     
  22. cvu524

    cvu524 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    The more frequent you have the weather update, the quicker the battery drain. I don't need to know what the weather is every 15 min. Mine is set for 3 hrs with auto refresh when i unlock the screen.
     
  23. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,222
    Mine gets updated manually/on demand. Heck, I see no need to have it current as it's not even on the home screen. ;)
     
  24. infg37

    infg37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    11
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    doesn't have taskbar notification i think that's what he wants
     
  25. mscheaf

    mscheaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have the same issues. Weatherbug is always 10+ degrees off and accuweather notification bar gets a network error anytime I use the phone, text or actually any other thing besides accuweather causes the network error. So I am still looking for a stable, correct weather app that has notification temps. You wouldn't think that would be that big of a deal, but it is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...