Weather WidgetSupport

Last Updated:

1. Halainn317

Halainn317 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I trashed the pre-installed weather widget and downloaded the Weather Channel widget, but it's not refreshing the temperature. This is the same reason I got rid of the pre-installed version. Anyone know why this happens? I also have Advanced Task Killer, could this be the culprit?

Advertisement
  2. Vmanisme

Vmanisme Well-Known Member

First of, delete ATK, we've been saying over and over and proving that it does nothing good to your phone, and the weather widget wont update unless you have sync turned on (which drains battery faster)

Halainn317 likes this.
  3. Halainn317

Thank you :) I'm new to Ally and the forums so I'm just curious, what is it that makes ATK so horrible? Is it just saying it's closing tasks and really not?

4. Vmanisme

Android is not a windows, its a linux, no linux system comes with a task killer because it manages memory differently. When you close something with ATK and the system needs it then it has to give more horsepower to start it back up and since ATK closes everything right after you end a task it just gets reopened. ATK runs in background too so it uses memory that it free's pretty much. Not to mention getting addicted to killing tasks and spending more time using the phone to kill tasks then just letting it sit there.

5. Halainn317

:D Wow, that's great to know! So I guess you really don't need a task killer at all. Thank you

6. RedFury

RedFury Well-Known Member

While I agree ATK is bad, a task manager is still a good thing. It's a matter of which you choose. The problem with ATK is that it tends to kill processes without discrimination. That means system processes and things you actually use.

7. Robo1007

Robo1007 Well-Known Member

If you want an awesome weather widget try beautiful widgets! Its great doesn't kill battery and looks amazing!

8. Halainn317