Weird Battery Issues


Last Updated:

  1. fatedcircle

    fatedcircle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I'm currently on my second Captivate after my first one seemed to have terrible battery life (couldn't even last me a full work day). The new one i have doesnt seem to be all that much better. The two phones just seem to drain so much battery in idle and i just could not put my finger on what the problem may be. At first, I thought it may be an app I had, so i restored my phone to factory settings, but still it seemed to drain a lot in idle.

    So for the last three nights, I tried sleeping with my phone unplugged to see how much it would drain.

    1st night i had it in airplane mode - 12%.
    2nd night with 3g on and wifi off - 12%.
    3rd night with just 2g on - 0%.

    so my question is: why would my phone drain the same amount in airplane mode as with 3g on but with 2g on the battery drain is nothing?? Is everyone else getting similar battery drains trough the night?

    I only have a week before my 30 day return period is over and I would hate to have to return this phone. If anyone can help me out this week and leave their phone unplugged through the night using the configurations i had and share their results, it would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. XTheEnthusiastX

    XTheEnthusiastX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    Approximately how many hours did you sleep each night? I did a battery test on airplane mode (after 100% charge) and didn't touch it for 16 hrs. and it went down 4%. During my normal sleep of 6-7hrs it usually goes down 2% (with WiFi and data off). I don't know if my phone is above-average efficient when its asleep, but it seems to drain pretty fast when I surf the web on WiFi ~1% every 2 mins lol.
     
  3. fatedcircle

    fatedcircle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I slept about 6 hours a night. When I'm surfing the web on 3g I get about 3 minutes per 1%. This is about the same on my first phone and the new replacement.
     
  4. fatedcircle

    fatedcircle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh and I just turned 3g back on for my drive to work and it dropped about 4% in about an hour and 15 mins. the display was on for about 6 minutes to check a text and an email and turn off my alarm.
     
  5. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    Last week, I went to bed right after the I charged the phone (it died on me). Got up about 7 hours later, and the charge went down 6% and that's with everything turned on.

    Which firmware are you running. If you're still running the stock firmware, it's awful with battery life. Jh2 and JH3 firmware have a much improved battery life.
     
  6. fatedcircle

    fatedcircle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am still running the stock firmware. Do u have any more informationon JH2 and JH3 (how to flash them/ where i can find them)? This is my first android phone so im really new to this whole rooting and flashing roms thing.
     
  7. locsplitter

    locsplitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    This. Please enlighten.
     
  8. cantim

    cantim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump! I would like to know as well
     
  9. Dennis_Bham

    Dennis_Bham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    21
    What method are you using to switch it to "just 2G" ???
     
  10. fatedcircle

    fatedcircle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im using the app SamServMode. Open that up then: debug menu, phone control, UE state control and then you can force the phone into 2G or 3G from there from choosing to change the RAT to GSM (2G) or WCDMA (3G).

    Anyways, does anyone else have any answer to my questions in my original post?
     

Share This Page

Loading...