Weird random resets...


Last Updated:

  1. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    So I've been running xtrSENSE4.2 since it came out and previous versions of xtrSENSE previous to that. I've been rooted for 3 months or so and consistently overclocked at 768 using SetCPU. Yesterday I take my phone out of my pocket and I can't get it to wake up... no amount of button pressing will make the black screen go away so I pulled the battery, put it back and it booted up just fine. Later that evening I start using the web browser and all of a sudden the screen goes black and it resets completely but stays on the white screen with the skateboarding androids for a troublingly long time before the boot animation finally starts. Then, once it's finally loaded I go to spare parts to see if my battery condition is still "good" and see if there's anything going on and it reboots again... these two reboots happened within 5 minutes of one another. On this second reboot the three skating androids remain for (what seems like) an even longer period of time before the boot animation finally starts again. At this point, once its fully booted up again, I go to SetCPU and move the slide bar from 768 to 748 (my minimum is 528 currently, it seems that I experience too much "wake up" lag when the minimum is set too low) and I haven't had any issues since.

    What I'm worried about is that since I've run my CPU at 768 for so long, have I damaged my processor and is that why I was experiencing these random resets? Or was it just an isolated incident... or is there even a way to see if my CPU is wearing out without simply waiting for it to crap out entirely? Any help would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    [ Edit ]

    Well, now that XDA is back up I see that xtrSENSE 4.2 did not include a CFS kernel - so you can pretty much ignore what I said in this greyed-out section my post:


    My "hunch" at this point is that there is something squirrelly about the CFS kernels. Whatever the problem is, it is very obscure, and when the problem occurs, there are not any "smoking gun" messages produced by the kernel in the kernel log. For sure, it is much more sensitive to underclocking than other kernels. (On prior kernels on Kaos ROMs, my phone was happy to be underclocked to 19 Mhz)

    The reason why I think this is that I have used the same ROM for about 4 or 5 weeks now (Tazz 2.0), both with it's stock kernel (about one week), with a BFS kernel (a day at most), and with the CFSV4 kernel (about 3 weeks) - and it still has problems exactly like you describe, albeit fairly infrequently.

    Initially, I went through a week-long set of experiments where the phone experienced either an episode of massive slowdown or a spontaneous reboot - something like 3 times total in 5 days. Eventually, I completely got rid of setCPU from the phone, and in the two weeks since that time, I have had no spontaneous reboots - but have had a "slowdown" or "strangeness" episode about once a week since that time.

    What I would recommend to you is to roll back to xtrSense 4.1 and use it for a week or more - that should let you know if it is a software issue or a hardware issue. From the way you described your symptoms, it could easily be a software (kernel) issue.


    eu1
     
  3. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    So the last two weeks has progressively gotten worse. I can't even use Pandora Radio anymore in my car because it'll reboot or freeze... then reboot if I wake my phone up after it's already playing a song. This is so effing frustrating... mostly because my Eris (which I've had since the day after it released last November) has been problem free since I got it. Even after I rooted it and started customizing it I never experienced any of these problems. I have a couple theories about what "could" be causing some of my issues and I'd really love some feedback.

    1. Before xtrSENSE 4.1 came out I was using a2sd on 4.0xx and I have yet to remove the partition from my SD card. I no longer use a2sd, I now use cache2cache but my card is still partitioned... could that be doing something?

    2. For the last 3 months I've been using SetCPU and the following profiles:
    Awake: 768 max, 528 min
    Temp>45.2*C: 480 max, 122 min (priority: 100)
    Charging AC/Full: 710 max, 245 min (priority: 50)
    Screen Off: 528 max, 122 min (priority: 50)
    Until I flashed xtrSENSE4.2 I never had a problem... and I had been using these profiles for 2.5 months at that point. Once I went back to 4.1 I slid my max Awake bar from 768 to 748 just to be safe. Have I damaged my processor by running at that speed for so long? Or could it have to do with the fact that while charging it's max and min are different than the "Awake" profile so it's having to change too often? Also, to those who oppose the use of SetCPU, I did try uninstalling it and overclocking using the included GScripts (I tried several different ones) and each of those resulted in much more frequent reboots until I reinstalled SetCPU... but the problem persists... just not as badly as with the OC GScripts.

    I'm currently charging my phone with the intention of removing the partition from my SD card, wiping my phone and reinstalling 4.1 fresh (when I went back to 4.1 from 4.2 I did a NAND restore rather than a wipe/reinstall). So hopefully this will help (fingers crossed) but any suggestions would be much appreciated (and needed). Thanks in advance.
     
  4. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    Try clocking lower to 710MHz and if jit is on, turn it off.
     
  5. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    No JIT, after all the reports of bugs with user I've never tried it.
     
  6. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    Well, last night I did a full wipe and flashed xtrSENSE 4.6 (which I had forgotten was released recently)... the installation of which went great. I downloaded titanium and restored everything except for setCPU so that I could run the ROM at its default OC speed which is 710. This morning after my alarm (have always used my phone as my alarm clock) goes off, I snooze my phone, set it back down on my night stand (I may have jostled it a bit), hear it vibrate and all of a sudden my room is filled with the brightness of the white screen with skateboarding androids on it. Effing ridiculous. I'm going to run 4.6 for the next few days to see if the performance overall is better but if these random reboots keep happening I'm going to flash back to 4.1 first, and if that doesn't work I'm getting a replacement from Verizon. Can anybody think of any reason why this is continuing to happen?
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    When you restore from Titanium, are you restoring only user apps or are you also restoring system apps? (The ones that are colored red and green in Titanium when you choose to restore are system apps.) If you are restoring system apps, try restoring only user apps. Or better, just to isolate it, do not restore from Titanium at all; just reinstall all of your apps on your first visit to the Market.

    Also, if this is relatively recent, perhaps there is a bad app that you installed (or updated) that is causing this to happen. What was the last app you installed before this started happening (including updated apps)?
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,675
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    ...or flash a very plain, normal (older) ROM such as Ivan's 1.0 that is only overclocked to 710 MHz max. and run that for a few days to make sure its not your overclocking that is stressing your phone.

    I myself, would be worried by this time that you have exceeded the overclocking limits of your particular device...
     
  9. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    When I installed 4.6 last night I did not install SetCPU so its only clocked at 710 currently and still resetting :(
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,675
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    Yeah, I'm just thinking that taking that particular ROM out of the equation might help point to an actual hardware issue (i.e., eliminate that particular ROM as the culprit).
     
  11. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'm doing a full wipe as I type this and am going to install 4.1 fresh because that's the last iteration of xtrSENSE that I didn't experience any issues on. If that fails I may go back to stock and re-root and just use SetCPU to OC because I ran rooted stock 2.1 for a month or two before I ever tried a ROM and I never had issues. If that doesn't work... I'll hope Verizon sends me a refurb that isn't total garbage out of the box. Really sucks too because I had one of the few wonderful Erises that never experienced any of the more common bugs I've read about in the forums.
     
  12. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    So I've been back on xtrSENSE 4.1 now on a fresh install for 5.5 hours without issue. I used Pandora radio while plugged into the charger with headphones in just like it would be in my car... I skipped a few songs, let several play through and all was peachy. What I did differently was be more selective about which apps I restored through Titanium and which I downloaded back from the market to get a fresh install. Pandora was one I redownloded, as well as SetCPU which I currently have set to 710 max and 245 min. Keep your fingers crossed for me... I'll test Pandora again when I'm in my car on the way to work in a couple hours.
     
  13. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    It is very possible that running your phone at 768 for too long damaged something that will never be right again.
     
  14. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    You may very well be right, I've been reading up on how to unroot the device in case I have to get a replacement from Verizon. I really hope that's not the case though because up until now my Eris has been completely bug-free and zippy as hell. But I guess its a learning experience, I just won't push it beyond the safe zone again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...