Well now what?


Last Updated:

  1. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Got my replacement Droid today. Activated it and set up my wifi credentials for my home network. No joy. Same old deal... Connecting. Connecting. Obtaining IP address from XXX.... Disconnected. Scanning. Rinse, repeat.
     

    Advertisement
  2. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Looks like it's an issue with your router. How about hard resetting that? Setting a new network up from scratch.

    Or, if you're competent enough, go through the router settings and see if something is locking out the phone.

    Do other phones and wireless devices work? What kind of router?
     
  3. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Done. Restored it to factory default. Rebuilt the network security and keys. Nada. Oh, and the two laptops and Blackberry in the house connect up just fine.

    It's a Belkin N1 router that worked just fine up until getting 2.2. Then the Droid just quit talking to it. Well, that's not quite true. It connects (and I can see it on the router side), but it just won't negotiate an IP, even though the router assigns one.

    There is nothing I can find in the router setup that would lock out the phone (unless it's the phone name's hex segment that's screwing it up). It also does the same thing on another router set up with WPA2 security.

    I'm open to suggestions on how to set up the router, if you have any!

    This is really frustrating!!
     
  4. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    I was using a 64 character password and was having this same issue. I changed the password to a 20 character password and have not had this issue since. I believe that the Droid may have an issue with such long passwords.

    One other thing I have noticed is that my Droid sometimes doesn't connect to a hidden, known network as quickly as a visible, known network. If you are comfortable with your security measures (and are even not broadcasting your SSID), you may think about broadcasting your SSID.

    Kratos
     
  6. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Good idea. Tried it, but I got nothing. When I checked it via Wifi Analyzer, it said "Android does not support ad-hoc networks." A quick check online shows that it is true, so no luck on this troubleshooting method.

    What else can I try before going back to the Verizon store? Oh, and when I was there, they tried to connect to their hotspot, but got the same results... thus the replacement phone.

    (Note: I am not rooted.)
     
  7. StrifeJester

    StrifeJester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have this at my mother house she has a D-Link Router and for the life of me I cannot get my Droid Connected to the damn thing. And I am a frakkin Cisco Certified Network tech. I just gave up on it since it works at my house and mom gets nervous when i tweak her stuff. But one interesting thing I have heard is that it may be something with the channel. Try and force the router to channel 6.
     
  8. tgambitg

    tgambitg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you trying to hook up to a N router? or a G? N routers have been having issues with DROIDs, generally you have to set them to mixed mode operation ( :( ) and work with it that way.
     
  9. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    wifi analyzer is a good app for this kinda stuff. Its free from the market
     
  10. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've set the router to manual channels, but not sure if I tried 6, specifically. I'll see what that does. At this point, I'm willing to try anything, no matter how unrelated or weird it may sound!

    I've had my router set at G+N since I got the Droid and it was working fine. When it quit, I tried B+G+N, B+G only, B only, G only and even N only. So I don't think that's it.

    Yeah, have it. See above where I mentioned that Wifi Analyzer said that Android didn't do Ad-hoc networks. :D
     
  11. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    I've had this problem w/ wifi at work ever since upgrading to Froyo a couple months ago. I can connect at home just fine, but cannot get the damn thing to connect at work anymore, and have yet to determine why. Actually, to clarify, it appears to connect - says it is connected in Wifi settings - but no data will come through. Websites come up blank. It's bizarre. Trying to connect to a G Wireless AP at work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...