What are the benifits of rooting your HTC Hero ?

Last Updated:

1. DLow

DLow New Member This Topic's Starter

Hey guys :) Im new to the android scene just switched from a blackberry curve to the Black HTC Hero. Been looking around on the forum and i was really wondering what are the benefits of rooting the HTC Hero ? I can already see just by reading through the forums that its probably the first thing ill do once i receive my HTC Hero in the mail.

Advertisement
  2. DonB

DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

For one it will give you full access to your phone without restrictions, also allow you to add many programs that you cannot on a stock phone, will also allow you to get rid of the sprint Bloatware programs, such as Sprint TV, Football, etc. it will also most likely speed up your phone and have less lag, I am not rooted, but these are somethings I have read many threads on, good luck I am sure the rooters will weigh it very soon and a Mod will most likely move your thread to the rooted section

3. jwpilly

jwpilly Well-Known Member

You get awesome apps that are specific for root users only like "Wireless Tether." You get to tweak the crap out of your phone, like overclocking etc. You get to back up your phone, so that if you ever mess it up, you can restore it to a previous version. You get to play around with different Roms when you get tired of the one you've been using. You can get Android 2.2 with all its awesome features. HTC and Sprint are not updating the Hero anymore, so all non-root users are stuck on Android 2.1 until they change phones. Once you root you will never go back.

Btw-Don't get attached to Sense UI. The hero runs better without it, and you can't get Android 2.2 with it.

4. wrench

wrench Well-Known Member

^^^ This. Plus, you can always go back to factory fresh if you really want. But I don't think anyone who roots goes back.

5. pinoy724

pinoy724 Well-Known Member