• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What are the top 5 most useful Root only apps?

For those that have been rooted for a while now, I'm just curious about the most helpful root apps used after installing a new ROM...

I'm new to Android...didn't know the first thing about it until a week ago, so I don't know if any of this will be of use to you. I've already seen there is a vast amount to learn and a lot of good resources. A few things I've come across recently:

8 Great Apps Every Rooted Android User Should Know About | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Hacks, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police Has links to other tutorials I've found helpful.

xda-developers Much to find in the forums about rooting and what you can do with it.

There's a lot more. Start looking for more Android forums if you haven't already. It's amazing how much is out there.

Reactions: mrgolfrider
Upvote 0
I hear a lot about SetCPU, but I haven't seen much reason to need to fiddle with my cpu speed. Could a few of you who are into it explain how you use it and what benefits you get?

Well there are two benefits...

Decrease CPU speed to save battery life
Increase CPU speed to make the phone work faster

Manufactures set it somewhere to give a reasonable speed whilst not killing the battery life.

So if you want to increase your battery life or increase your performance you can use SetCPU to do this. You can also set profiles to increase or decrease based on certain situations.

Also, what's metamorph?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=591329

Reactions: flu13
Upvote 0

Manufactures set it somewhere to give a reasonable speed whilst not killing the battery life.

So if you want to increase your battery life or increase your performance you can use SetCPU to do this. You can also set profiles to increase or decrease based on certain situations.