What are your SetCPU settings on the Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. haison

    haison Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased the app and it runs well. My current settings are:

    Main: 800/1000 performance

    Profiles:
    Charging/Full 400/800 performance
    Screen off 400/600 on demand
    Battery < 25% 200/800 on demand
    Temp > 50C 200/400 on demand

    I am looking into at what else everyone is running. I did have some trouble at first when I had "screen off setting at 100/200MHz on demand" and it would not wake up and I had to take out the battery and restart it that way. I have an idea of the scaling is but not sure of the priority settings. I still have not set it on boot yet, I am going to wait about another day or two to see if the settings are stable that it won't crash.

    Overall. . . . after about two hours I am happy with the purchase. The processor scaling is what gives that 'lag' everyone is experiencing, but with the setting on performance it is really snappy.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm still tinkering with it (any suggestions are gladly welcome), but here are my settings

    Main: 1000/400 | on demand
    Charging/Full: 1000/800 | conservative
    Battery < 50%: 800/400 | on demand
    Battery < 20%: 400/400 | on demand *
    Screen off: 200/200 | power save

    *I notice when I'm on this setting, the phone becomes almost unbearably slow. Slow unlocking, slow wake up, and sometimes slow performance

    Now I'm not really sure what all of those "on demand", and things mean, but I figured I'd post my settings and hopefully someone can see what I'm doing wrong
     
  3. Clienterror

    Clienterror Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have setcpu so its on 1000mhz normally and 100-1000 with the screen off, but I'm having problems with it not waking up and I have to take the battery out and turn it back on. The priority is set to 50 should I change that?
     
  4. siehead

    siehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed that I need to keep it above 400 with the screen off or it might not come back on. Trying upping those settings a little bit and see if that helps.

    On another note, Setcpu has really improved my performance and the issues I have had with lag. I have only used it for a day but really appreciate this program so far.

    Does anybody have suggestions for some of the advanced settings?

    Thanks.
     
  5. haison

    haison Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update. . . .

    The phone is not waking up after I leave it alone for about 5 minutes.
     
  6. sonicanatidae

    sonicanatidae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've been using SETCPU for about 10 minutes now. From my pedestal of experience I have to say... DAMN...what a difference. lol

    I havent experimented enough with sleep modes, etc. to say anything about that, but
    the CPU set to 1000 makes the phone move hella fast when navigating the menus, etc.

    I'm almost upset the damn thing didnt run this fast/crisp out of the box..

    edit: Woot, my shit locked up in screen off mode, after 5-8 mins sleeping.. Oh well, back to slow motion.. *sigh*
     
  7. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sounds as though the phone has problems throttling itself back up to speed after being asleep for a little bit.

    I have JuiceDefender and SetCPU running to help with battery life, so we'll see how that works.
     
  8. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    I don't understand why you guys are doing this. I did use SetCPU for about 10 minutes one day to see what it would do, but the I installed System Panel. If you install System Panel you'll see that the phone throttles itself very well and even lower in some instances that you're setting it at. While I was looking at System Panel on mine, it clocked all the way down to 100Mhz at one point. I'm not trying to antagonize or anything, but if you're trying to use SetCPU to extend your battery life, you're probably harming more than helping.
     
  9. sonicanatidae

    sonicanatidae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Personally, I'm trying to get the crisp response. I have the ability to charge
    my phone off and on all day, if needed, so battery is less of a concern. I
    just want the screens and apps to fly..
     
  10. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    Then pegging that sucker at 1000Mhz is the thing for you! :D

    Personally, I can't wait till we can overclock these things. There's a guy at my work who has a Driod. He likes to mess with me by overclocking his CPU and saying "I've got a 1Ghz CPU just like you". I'd love to jump up to about 1.4Ghz just to say "now what, bitch?" :eek:
     
  11. corge

    corge New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Haha, indeed!
     
  12. sonicanatidae

    sonicanatidae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14


    1st.
    If I peg it, will it still crash in sleep mode?

    2nd. Hilarious ...now what bitch?!?! :D
     
  13. ranova

    ranova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    74
    unless you want to keep your cpu downclocked for certain events (batt <50), setcpu is pointless and buggy for this phone. locking up and forcing a battery pull during sleep is a pain.
     
  14. haison

    haison Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have taken the screen off profile I originally had and was monitoring it overnight with SystemPanel and it did not lock up on me this morning. So far so good.
     
  15. sonicanatidae

    sonicanatidae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    I killed all profiles and just cranked this bitch up..
    Seems fine.. wakes up out of sleep mode ok and its still crisp..

    Now to see how my battery fairs. Charging it up to full now.
    Will unplug it in a bit and see how the battery works out.
     
  16. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think SetCPU is what "bricked" my phone. I left it alone for about 10-15 mins, and it didn't wake up. Power button didn't do anything, and taking out the battery didn't do much. It booted, but wouldn't get back the Galaxy S symbol. Good thing I did a nandroid backup before installing the program. Ended up restoring it from a few days ago, so no real big lose. But I'm not putting this back on until more people do and can answer some questions
     
  17. Steemax

    Steemax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is exactly what I did and today is the 2nd day, and the only battery life difference I saw was like a 30min diff, not a big deal to me.
     
  18. Drivespinners

    Drivespinners Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

Loading...