Support what can android system recovery do?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anywhere, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. anywhere

    anywhere New Member
    5

    Aug 24, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I want to do factory reset. when I went to "android system recovery" and selected "factory reset", I was asked if I want to clear all user data.

    What does this function do? Will it wipe out everything on my SD card and every information I put on my phone like email settings? What about the existing applications I installed? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    VIP Member
    333

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,416
    1,920
    333
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    No. It wipes out all of your installed applications and starts you fresh as if you just bought the phone.

    However, all apps that you have installed and / or purchased through the market are tied to your primary Google account on your phone, so when you add that account back as the primary account after wiping, it hsould start to re-=populate all of your applications.

    Settings, well, someof the system settings are restored, but only if you have the 'setting' set to synch your settings to your Google account.

    SMS Backup and Restore is a good (non-root) way to make backups of your SMS (provided that you are not using Google Voice exclusively for your SMS - if you are, then GV already has all your SMS in *it* )

    The factory reset DOES NOT WIPE YOUR SDCARD. EVER.

    Finally, your Contacts and Calendar should automatically be synchronizing to your Google account as well.

    HTH
     
  3. patch

    patch Well-Known Member
    38

    Feb 14, 2010
    108
    11
    38
    Do you know if it wipes and restores /system?
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    VIP Member
    213

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    it does not. The factory reset wipes the data and cache partitions and I think it wipes your prl as well because you have to reactivate after doing it. Not sure exactly on the prl thing though its been awhile since I messed with factory reset on the stock recovery.
     

Share This Page

Loading...