What custom roms are available for the Sprint HTC Hero?


Last Updated:

  1. droid51378

    droid51378 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    16
    I am considering rooting my phone. I only want to root it if I am going to use a custom rom. Does this process make the phone smoother? Depending on the rom I use, will Sense ui or the HTC widgets still be available? What all different roms are available?

    I have tried searching for htc hero roms, but all I ever get is a ton of G1 phones running a hero rom.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Hop over to Hero CDMA - xda-developers

    You'll find the 3-ish roms that are available.

    You won't lose sense ui or htc widgets with most of the roms.
     
  3. lv2bll

    lv2bll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    ya go over to xda, flipzmode just released the new frest rom 1.0, also make sure you root to RA_heroc v1.5.1 recovery Youl loove it! very zippy
     
  4. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a link where you can get the clear add on??
     
  5. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    48
  6. boomhower

    boomhower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also using freshrom and really liking it so far. I had it loaded less than 24 hours of receiving my phone. I like it so far.
     
  7. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone using the Fresh 1.0 ROM know what the blue E in a circle on the task bar means??
     
  8. boomhower

    boomhower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been wondering the same thing myself as it was in the stock ROM too. I am sure it's in the owners manual but I haven't had a chance to look. I am betting it has something to do with location services but it is not GPS.
     
  9. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    48
    It means you're connected with Ev-Do (3G)
     
  10. liddellw1

    liddellw1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the instructions for rooting the Hero to add the Fresh ROM apply to the Cellular South HTC Hero or just to the Sprint Hero? Also, does rooting the phone increase the battery time and allow for apps to be put on the sdcard?

    Thanks

    Willie (Newb)
     
  11. d1g1taLph3r3t

    d1g1taLph3r3t New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to the page at Five Great Reasons to Root Your Android Phone - Android rooting - Lifehacker it says that the Cyanogen rom actively works the phones CPU, RAM and memory partitions harder so you may need to locate an aftermarket extended life battery for your phone. Although the Cyanogen rom is built for the U.S.-based G1 and myTouch 3G phones, the speed improvements and increased battery drain may apply to all custom roms for all Android phones.

    At the same page I listed above, a member [Ph0Xy] says that rooting an Android phone allows you to install apps2sde.

    To enable the apps2sd feature in your G1 and MyTouch phone head on over to How to manually partition your SD card for Android Apps2SD
     

Share This Page

Loading...