What do I need to do to enable live wallpapers in 2.1?Support


Last Updated:

  1. calamitycomplex

    calamitycomplex New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may have been answered, but I've been following this all day and haven't seen anyone explain how to do it.
    I'm on Joey's DD03 v4. I've downloaded some live wallpapers but have no idea how to apply them/make them work.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
  3. calamitycomplex

    calamitycomplex New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for you help! Works great. Just now I'm figuring out how to make droid explorer work so I can remove crappy stock apps.
     
  4. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just use connectbot to do it manually, it's a little late but if you do calkulin's rom it will remove just about all bloatware, give live wallpapers which you jst did so won't matter it will also give you the new gallery, and the n1 launcher plus all the root apps generally used.
     
  5. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
  6. Schwamy

    Schwamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, it doesn't work for me either.
     
  7. pdx77

    pdx77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you have Joeykrim's Recovery Mode installed? and make sure you are not unzipping the .zip file
     
  8. Adrift

    Adrift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    104
    Caulkins' is working great for me... Live wallpaper ( I love Earth Live wallpaper, super cutomizable) 5 homescreens, 3D gallery... etc.... Simple all-in-one package.
     
  9. Schwamy

    Schwamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, I have stock, I thought you didn't need root?
     
  10. pdx77

    pdx77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    5
    You don't need root, but you need his recovery console, go here to download and install.

    http://www.sdx-developers.com/index.php?topic=1380.0

    not sure how you missed that since the first part of the instructions state you need his recovery console, unless you are doing the manual method.
     
  11. Schwamy

    Schwamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh whoops, I guess i just skimmed through it too fast.

    EDIT: Awww yeah, got it. You guys are real life savers! :D
     
  12. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    If I recall correctly, doesn't the new DD03 download have the Joey recovery bundled with it?
     
  13. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    Critical your are absolutely correct.
     
  14. Schwamy

    Schwamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, but I flashed the night 2.1 was leaked so I didn't have it.
     
  15. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    How did you load the ROM? I don't know all of the root coding to 'push' and get this stuff up and running.
    And is there any way to get Joey's V5 root to replace the laggier V2?

    Thanks:)
     
  16. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    Crit I'm assuming you have joey's recovery by your comment, so just download v5 put on sd card, boot phone into recovery so when it's off press vol down + send + end, then mount the sd card and then apply the v5 and bam. You can do same thing with cal's rom but you also have to do a recovery with cal's rom to get the live wallpaper, n1 launcher ect.
     
    CriticalCritic likes this.
  17. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    any chance you could explain in more detail? like the cmds for mounting and applying?

    and won't the followup of loading cal's rom after V5 replace V5 with the V2 in his rom?

    Oh, and just to clarify, to get the live wallpaper are you saying that I need to use cal's recovery rom? or the regular one?
     
  18. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    Np first off yes you would have to do cal's rom before v5.

    Cal's rom is 2 parts the rom and recovery, like I said if using joey's rom like this

    For rom you do this,
    Copy update*.zip to the root of your sdcard
    Power off phone
    Press & hold Vol down, talk(green) & end(red) buttons until boot logo displays
    Double check sdcard is mounted. Sdcard Options -> Mount to /sdcard
    Select Apply zip from SD and select update*.zip
    Reboot when done


    ^ For above do same but use v5 and done.

    Then for recovery,
    Copy data_backup*.tar to the root of your sdcard
    Power off phone
    Press & hold Vol down, talk(green) & end(red) buttons until boot logo displays
    Double check sdcard is mounted. Sdcard Options -> Mount to /sdcard
    Select Data options, then Restore and select data_backup*.tar
    Reboot when done

    Recovery will take some time, it will implement the following,
    Opera Mini 5
    HTC IME
    Swype
    Facebook
    SetCPU
    Advanced Task Killer
    ConnectBot
    OI File Manager
    Tweaks
    LiveWallpapers
    N1 Launcher
    3d gallery

    no you don't need cal's rom to do live wallpapers there is a zip for the livewallpapers alone if you wanted then you can just do v5 and livewallpapers without the rest.
     
    CriticalCritic likes this.
  19. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    by adding joeys recovery it does not overwrite my 2.1 does it?
     
  20. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    Well if you downloaded dd03 alone then you have to reflash, there might be a way to just add joey's recovery to 2.1 after but i'm not sure you would have to ask that on thier forums i'm just learning all this just like you guys.
     
  21. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    where is the dd03 with it, I also have the original leak

    nevermind, I applied Joeys alone and it worked.
     
  22. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
  23. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Edit... oops
     
  24. dwolf312

    dwolf312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    23
    In recovery mode should be in those menus second to bottom should be there and then go up to apply zip from sd then select the zip then back out and hit reboot.
     
    CriticalCritic and kiddk1 like this.
  25. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    exactly, live wallpaper is awesome, plenty of free ones in the market also, thanks everyone
     

Share This Page

Loading...