• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help what do the icons in notification bar mean?

imcarrid

Dec 15, 2009
I am new to the moment and to the forum. When I get an email, there are 2 different symbols that show up in the top bar. One is the @ sign. and the other is an envelope. They both show my gmail, but with 2 different views. One is new emails, the other is new conversations. Does anyone know anything about why these both show up?
Thanks for any help,
Carri

My guess is that you set up email in the Android stock Email app. See, when, for the first time, you log into your Google account, your phone automatically uses that account to pull your Gmail from. In other words, the Gmail app is automatically set up with your Gmail account! So when you create the same Gmail account into the other email app (which is meant to be used for your other email accounts, not the main Google account you are using with your Android phone), you basically have two different applications - Gmail and the stock email app - pulling the same emails. The best way to stop it is to delete your Gmail account from the stock Email app and just use the Gmail app.

Upvote 0
The ignorant question was answered, a thank you was given. Did you really need to post a sarcastic statement, and act like a jerk??? really??

Yeah, I did....lol...I was just having a little fun....notice the smiley. Sorry bout that....really!

Check out Ben!!! He has chosen to be informed and even did a little leg work on your behalf.

@Evil: And, yes, I do read the manual. Some of us are wired differently. I come from a technical background. I get a little bit ghey about my stuff so I enjoy learning about it. And ultimately, I was just making a point(That Ben has proven) that this question was so basic the answer should not be hard to find if the OP had put in just teenie bit of effort.

Upvote 0