What do the symbols/leds mean?!?Support


Last Updated:

  1. spydermn

    spydermn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read the manual, I searched (I will say my search skillz are not that great)...still no answers.

    So my question is what do the sylmbols on the top of the screen (think near the antenna/battery) mean? I have a couple I cannot figure out. Is there a link that I can get that will lead me to the answers to my questions.
    thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    those are the notifications, hold your finger on the top bar and pull down. Then you can clear them.
     
    ed33433 likes this.
  3. irwinm

    irwinm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    29
    no - I think he is referring to the right side of the top status bar by the signal bars - do you mean things like the triangle symbol? I couldn't figure it out from the manual but think it means either roaming or CDMA service only.
     
  4. davism490

    davism490 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    6
    Fortunately I read through the online user manual on sprint.com otherwise I would be asking the same question. The online user manual is not quite the same as the one included in the box. The online manual has all the icons that can appear at the top of the screen. http://support.sprint.com/global/pdf/user_guides/htc/evo/htc_evo_ug.pdf the icons are on page 9-10
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    which symbols? There's the crosshair one which is GPS, if you see a triangle it's roaming, etc.
     
  6. davism490

    davism490 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    6
    ashy.

    correct. there are two pages of symbols in the online manual that aren't described in the manual that comes with the phone
     
  7. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    In the list of apps is a shortcut to an online manual that is easier to use than the PDF. You can also get to it on a regular browser. Here is a link to the page with the symbols.

    Viewing the Display Screen
     
  8. dvrdwn

    dvrdwn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just noticed a triangle above my signal strength bars. what does that mean?
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Means you are roaming.
     
    damewolf13 and dvrdwn like this.
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I find the triangle frustrating...at times it appears when I know I am in network coverage
     
  11. NeoEVO

    NeoEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    58
    Doesn't updating the PRL help to reduce roaming occurances?
     
  12. theintoxicatedmofo

    theintoxicatedmofo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have yet to see that icon on my Evo...can you just set your evo to work on your home network like you can on the blackberry? i know on the tour i set my network to home only, so the phone i dont think would roam because if it didnt detect the sprint network it would just not have any reception..
     
  13. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yep, it's under:

    Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Roaming

    Your options are 'Sprint only' and 'Automatic"
     
  14. mityman50

    mityman50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    I roam at my house... :(

    But what does roaming actually mean, anyways? Aside from the fact that I'm not going to be making any calls any time soon... I mean, wouldn't it just make more sense to say, "No Coverage"?
     
  15. Roq

    Roq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    16
    I forget where I read this, but I think when you are roaming it limits what you can actually do, and the connection is really slow.

    I go between a sprint tower and Verizon tower at work because the sprint one is barley in range. Even with full bars from the Verizon tower it goes slower than 1 or 2 bars on the Sprint tower.
     
  16. kamikazekyle

    kamikazekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    16
    Roaming means you're on Verizon's network and towers instead of Sprint. As far as I know, there's no charges from Sprint for making calls or using data while romaing. There is supposedly a "limit" of 800 MB on data while roaming, after which Sprint can charge/suspend/drop your account, though I don't think it's been enforced on anyone yet.

    The connection speed probably just depends on the network saturation and 3G availability for Verizon's network vice Sprints for the area in question. I think the 3G systems are compatible with one another, though I'm more familiar with GSM and ATT/TMobile's 3G than I am with CDMA.

    No coverage means you don't have a cell signal at all.

    I actually wish there was an easy way to force the phone into roaming. At my girlfriends house, pretty much the *ONLY* network for miles is Verizon with the odd Sprint tower scattered in. GSM is nearly non-existent. My Evo insists on trying to hold on to that one bar Sprint tower rather than flipping to the 4-5 bar Verizon tower. I could use a hacked PRL, but I only need the forced roaming every other weekend.
     
  17. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Roaming means nothing these days. You would be screwed if it were 5 or 8 years ago. Now all carriers basically have open roaming policies SO LONG AS YOU HAVE A NATIONAL PLAN.

    I'm not trying to burn OP, I have a genuine question... Is this your first cell phone? Roaming indicators haven't changed in better than 8 years...
     
  18. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    Back with my PPC-6700 there was a 'Roam only' option, but an update killed that (which was re-added with a custom rom). Same with a custom rom on the 6800 and Touch Pro. There's no reason why one of the many custom roms on the evo couldn't do the same thing, they just haven't (that I know of.)
     
  19. Bigbuds1

    Bigbuds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked on the online list of symbols and could not find,,, directly left of the gps symbol I have one that looks like an ear with sound waves?? e)) ??
     
  20. Kenster

    Kenster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    I believe that is the "Hearing Aid" symbol. It boosts the headset volume. its under Settings/Call/
     
    ed33433 and Bigbuds1 like this.
  21. Bigbuds1

    Bigbuds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks that is what it is, the hearing volume boost. And I turned that on, because I can't hear worth a darn.:rolleyes:
     
  22. alicesavesrave

    alicesavesrave New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So My phone has that stupid triangle thing over the signal bar. I don't know what to do. I went to the settings to figure it out. You see I had to reset my phone back to how I got it and now It is making me mad. I'm frusterated....
     
  23. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    Welcome to AF alice!
    So after your reset (factory reset, I assume?), your roaming indicator showed up?
    Can I assume you are not rooted?
    Have you tried to update your prl or profile? And you have the Evo 4g?

    Sorry for all the questions :p
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  24. jymm

    jymm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, I just found your forum and it has already answered my question. I had the triangle with exclamation mark for a few weeks now. Pulling it down as advised gave me the answer. It was nothing serious. I use Tracfone so had shut down background data as it eats up a lot of data. I returned background data to service and shut down data usage completely which does not give me a warning and I can re-enable it when I want to use it rather than WIFI.
    Great forum.
     
    ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  25. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,617
    Likes Received:
    20,416
    Hello jymm and welcome!! :)

    Glad you found your answer here! You'll find this forum friendly and helpful and if there is something you see that's not kosher, just hit the report button, ([​IMG] ) and we can handle it!!

    Thanks for joining!!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...