What exactly is Sense UI, and what makes it the shizz?General


Last Updated:

  1. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have always wondered this, but I have never asked. Even when switching between home replacements, the only difference I have noticed is: Not being able to long press an app and move it from home screen to home screen.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    37
    Basically, just call it the eye candy that HTC provides over the Android OS. The widgets and some syncing. Makes it look better.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    There is some functionality in Sense that either needs replacement when going to another launcher or finding an app that will mimic that functionality.

    One I miss is long pressing a picture while browsing the internet and being able to save it for use later as wallpaper.
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Huh? I'm using Launcher Pro and the default Internet app (unrooted). I just tried this to make sure it worked. Grabbed a picture at random off the internet(long press, save). Went to Menu/wallpaper and it allowed me to select the picture I'd just downloaded. I noticed it also was 'offering' to let me use book covers for ebooks that I have on my phone.
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    All I get with a long press of a picture is a menu with "back," "forward," "refresh," "new bookmark," "find text" and "copy text."
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Obviously you're not holding your mouth right, or you got your fedora tipped at the wrong angle - something like that...
    You're rooted where I am not, wonder if that's the difference?
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I have been thinking that the difference is either the absence of Sense or of an app I deleted as root that I did not need but which was connected to that functionality.
     
  8. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    @OP

    Sense being the shizzy is a long debate that many will tell you it is not. I personally think in concept it is great, but in execution by HTC it sucks. I have stopped using it and prefer a 3rd party application. But in the end it is your personal choice.
     
  9. xAusTiN

    xAusTiN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    14
    The only thing I loved about Sense was the widgets. LauncherPro beats it out of the water every other way.
     
  10. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    Any widget packs that have close to the same function as the HTC ones? I really like Launcher Pro too but I really like the htc widgets so I am using Sense UI right now. Seems like most of the widget packs I download are just shortcuts to the setting I am trying to toggle. I use the Mobile Network one quite oftem (I understand I can long press the end button and get the same result as a widget, but I prefer a widget) and Airplane Mode alot. Airplane Mode Toggles are a dime a dozen in the Market, but some are smoother and faster than others.

    EDIT: And turning the Network off when you are not using the Browser REALLY saves some battery life on my phone. Also I do not use any widgets for radio apps, I just open the app by pressing the icon. I usually keep 3G turned off most of the day.
     
  11. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    24
    Beautiful widgets has a similar clock, and all the wifi on/off, gps on off, etc.
    There unfortunately isnt a 3g on off anywhere on the market that works with cdma phones (well afaik), but the easiest way to do that really is just hold down power button for a second then hit mobile network to turn it on/ off. Im pretty sure you can do that anywhere, as apposed to just being able to do it where the widget is at.

    Only downside is that its not free.... But its totally worth it!
     
    Jshizzy likes this.
  12. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Check out easy switch. Has all the toggles you could ever need (including the mobile network toggle). This is the only one I know of that has that toggle.
     
    Jshizzy likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...