what happens when you press the hotspot app without a hot spot add-on to your plan?


Last Updated:

  1. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    I see a Sprint Hotspot app on the Epic. What happens if you press it? Does it auto-activate the hotspot, or does it check to see if you have the add-on plan before it can be used?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sloheim

    sloheim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    27
    It checks first and gives you an error if you dont have the service added to your account.
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  3. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
  4. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42
    It trys to connect but in the end it wont.
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  5. CHARLES.BUCKLAND

    CHARLES.BUCKLAND Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just signed up for sprint and got two EPIC 4G phones for me and my wife, I have not added any hotspot add-on on my plan, when I turn on hotspot feature on my phone I am able to connect my computer to the internet using my hotspot, it does not work on my wife's phone. Does sprint give this for free initially? or did I get lucky with my device? Please advise?
     
  6. buggerritt

    buggerritt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    24
    check out "Wireless Tether for Root User" app.
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  7. lpsteve

    lpsteve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed the same thing. That it seemed to work without even signing up. I havent thoroughly tried it out but was able to connect to another device. It connected but I couldn't yget active internet to work. I asked the same question about this in another thread and never got an answer.
     
  8. CHARLES.BUCKLAND

    CHARLES.BUCKLAND Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can turn on this feature on the epics when you connect to the wifi from the pc you can not get an internet connection to browse webpages. My phone is letting me do it. Hope that is not a trial version, can sprint detect that my device is letting me share WIFI for free?
     
  9. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    i did not paid for the extra hotspot option. yes, if i enable hotspot on phone, i can connect to it with pc, but no internet on pc. no problem because i didn't paid for that option.
     
  10. CHARLES.BUCKLAND

    CHARLES.BUCKLAND Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just found out that the version of software that I have my Samsung Epic is Build number Samsung ECLAR.DG17 which I never upgraded after I bought the phone, seems like that is what is giving me free hotspot internet access from my laptop without paying the $30 per month.
     
  11. MisterDisney

    MisterDisney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    We only paid for the service on mine, but now it looks like it works on my wife's Epic as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...