What I was afraid of :( Fresh 2.0d questions


Last Updated:

  1. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hey there,

    I finally dove in and rooted/ROM'd yesterday after holding out for so long. One of my reasons, which I've posted in the regular Hero forum, was because I don't have the time to fully dedicate to tweaking/modding/fixing the phone if something is not working.

    Well....I flashed Fresh 2.0d yesterday and have played with it a little bit. I've got pretty much everything back to how it was, at least in regards to phone settings, and I'm about to replace all my home screens. So far, I really like the ROM.

    However, so far, I've noticed 2 issues that i am hoping some kind soul will help me out with (without flaming me):

    1. My awake time is 100%. Not sure why, as I've never had this issue before. I just rebooted, so we'll see if that helps.
    2. I'm having the Facebook sync issue where not all of my contacts are syncing and I don't have the option in People to "link all contacts" at once to their profile. In fact, only to the letter "E" is syncing. I've seen people with this issue, but haven't found a solution.

    If anyone can help with these two issues, I'd be forever greatful! I'm hoping I don't have to wipe and start over to fix it, otherwise, my worst nightmare has come true :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Your awake time should be fine (unless you are running FreshToast-beta, which was obtained via donating). Are you by any chance plugged in? Have you checked your battery status to find what is keeping the phone awake? Have you checked Spare Parts for info?

    As for the facebook syncs, this has been addressed many many times. I myself have given suggestions numerous times. It works for some, others for some reason it does not. What worked for me was to delete my Facebook account from my phone, then re-add it (selecting the HTC Facebook one). I also went into a contact that was linked, unlinked them, re-linked them, navigated to their photos (within the contact), choose a facebook album, let it load. I then set my phone down and walked away. Everything sync'd fine.

    The sync takes a while. For some 5+ minutes, for others, even more. There is no 100% fix that I have found, although I'm willing to bet that someone will tell you to flash a different ROM that supposedly has it working. For me, it all works just fine. Besides, patience is a virtue.....
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  3. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    100% awake is normal until you reboot after flashing.. you'll also see 100% awake time if plugged into a USB port on the computer.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  4. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37

    Thank you for the response. I didn't realize that having it plugged in kept it awake. I thought that was the case early on, but was resolved. I'll have to keep an eye on it. I've looked at what has been using battery and it doesn't look like anything out of the ordinary. I'll also keep an eye on that and report back.

    I will try your solution for the Facebook sync as well. I checked again and it appears that all (or most) of my contacts in my Facebook have sync'd, however, under the "Updates" tab in the People app, there is nothing. Again, I'll give your solution a go and see what happens. I truly hope this will resolve itself along with a few other quirks I've seen, because so far, I'm really liking this. It's responsive and everything appears to work as it was intended (for instance, Voice Search/Dial ACTUALLY does what it says. Before I could say "Dial Home" and I would get search results for pizza joints), however, some of the things I'm seeing bug me.

    Again, I'll give your Facebook solution a go and see if that fixes it, and I'll keep an eye on the battery/awake time.

    A few other questions/issues I have that I'm hoping I can get a hand with are as follows:

    1. When I flashed, I had to do it with the 1.2.3 RA. Should I/Do I need to flash the updated 1.6.2?
    2. When I go into the Settings>SD/Phone Storage, I'm down to like 25 MB. I have nothing more installed than what I had with my stock ROM, and in fact have less (no Sprint Nav, currently no Sprint TV, etc...) and I never got below 35 MB with my Stock ROM. One reason is that my contacts storage app is over 15 MB....that can't be right, can it? Should I maybe clear the data and resync everything? I can't figure out why it's that high. The phone isn't lagging at all because of this, but I'd like to add a few more things and I'm afraid I'll run out of space. I've thought about AP2SD, but I'm afraid that the cons outweigh the pros with that.
    3. I've gotten some odd pictures come up when I've gotten calls from contacts. I'll get a call from home, and the picture of a friend on Facebook comes up. Any ideas?
    4. For anyone who uses Personal Assistant, I can't get it to logon to my account. It just hangs. Anyone use or notice this?
    5. A general question, if I do a Nandroid backup and dont' change the name of the previous one on my SD card, does the newer one overwrite it?
    6. Has anyone used the LWP with Fresh 2.0d? Is it worth it? I'm guessing it's personal preference, but I'd like to try it out. It appears it's just a file that I'd need to flash just like a ROM, correct?

    Again, thanks in advance for anyone willing to help. I realize that this stuff has probably been covered, and truthfully, as I've been wavering back and forth on whether or not to root, I've probably read it before as well, but if anyone would be so kind to toss up a few answers, I'd really appreciate it.
     
  5. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37

    I've rebooted a few times already. I knew that usb connection to a computer keeps it awake, but I'm connected to the outlet and still getting awake time of 100%
     
  6. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    my replies are in bold above....
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  7. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Apparently we should have been more specific.... :)

    If your phone is charging, regardless of wall or computer it will be awake. The phone will not start to sleep until the external power source is removed.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  8. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    Originally Posted by ToxicToastKatz [​IMG]

    w other questions/issues I have that I'm hoping I can get a hand with are as follows:

    1. When I flashed, I had to do it with the 1.2.3 RA. Should I/Do I need to flash the updated 1.6.2?
    Personally I would. it's a simple process and will give you the latest stable version of recovery.


    I just did this. Thanks!


    2. When I go into the Settings>SD/Phone Storage, I'm down to like 25 MB. I have nothing more installed than what I had with my stock ROM, and in fact have less (no Sprint Nav, currently no Sprint TV, etc...) and I never got below 35 MB with my Stock ROM. One reason is that my contacts storage app is over 15 MB....that can't be right, can it? Should I maybe clear the data and resync everything? I can't figure out why it's that high. The phone isn't lagging at all because of this, but I'd like to add a few more things and I'm afraid I'll run out of space. I've thought about AP2SD, but I'm afraid that the cons outweigh the pros with that.
    Download cachemate from the market (free one works fine) use that to clear space. also, once you flash a ROM or recovery or even make a nandroid, you can remove them from the SD card.


    The space on the SD card isn't the issue, it's the internal storage that's low. I'll give cachemate a go, although, i went through most of the bigger space occupiers and it doesn't appear they have any chache to clear.


    3. I've gotten some odd pictures come up when I've gotten calls from contacts. I'll get a call from home, and the picture of a friend on Facebook comes up. Any ideas?
    never had that happen for me. but clearing cache might help. also it may be resolved once you reset your facebook account.


    I'll give this a go.


    4. For anyone who uses Personal Assistant, I can't get it to logon to my account. It just hangs. Anyone use or notice this?
    sorry, can't help here

    5. A general question, if I do a Nandroid backup and dont' change the name of the previous one on my SD card, does the newer one overwrite it?
    No, it creates a new backup. all are named by date and time

    6. Has anyone used the LWP with Fresh 2.0d? Is it worth it? I'm guessing it's personal preference, but I'd like to try it out. It appears it's just a file that I'd need to flash just like a ROM, correct?
    if you want to play with the LWP. get home switcher from the market. use it to change between Sence and Launcher. While in Launcher change to a LWP. After 10 or 15 minutes you'll decide that they're neat but pointless.



    'Nuff said :)

     
  9. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    Okily dokily, so here's the update on my questions:

    Facebook is all good. It seems that everything has sync'd as it should (at least it looks that way).

    I cleared the Contact Storage data and resynched everything. It's back to around 12.5 MB.

    I've only got about 24 MB available on my phone, and a particular game I'd like to add is about 8MB and it's telling me i'm out of space. Any clues as to why I'm so low on space? As I stated before, I actually have less on the phone than I did when I had the Stock ROM, and now I"m missing all the bloatware and still that low on memory. Any suggestions?

    I'd like to avoid using Ap2SD because I don't want to fry my phone. If I were to do that, do I have to reflash anything or is it just partitioning my SD card (which would require me to copy the contents to the computer before doing so)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...