i've unticked this, and I still get gmail, k-9 and other apps updating. it seems to make no difference to anything!!! I presume its like having your broadband at home permanently connected? (if on), and when off, it 'dials up' each time to connect? When unticking it i get a warning about possible apps not working. does anyone know what sorta apps might not work?