What is my phone downloading????


Last Updated:

  1. ss220

    ss220 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Over the past two days, I've noticed every time I look at my phone the two arrows beneath the 3G symbol are both on constantly. If I go in to settings->about->Battery->battery use I see that android.process.acore has received over 30 MB.

    What the heck is it doing? My battery life was pretty good until yesterday when I began noticing this behavior. I had to put the phone on the charger after only 8 hours of use yesterday.
     

    Advertisement
    WordIsBorn likes this.
  2. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    what have you downloaded lately?

    Go to Settings: about phone: battery: Battery Use

    If an app is pulling 3g all the time, it has to be listed in battery use as a very high battery user app.

    Common types of apps that pull constant data are streaming music, instant messaging apps, video players.
     
  3. ss220

    ss220 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've done several power cycles, so I don't think it is an app. The only things listed under settings->about->Battery->battery use are:
    Android System 67%
    Display 16%
    Cell standby 12%
    Android.process.acore 5%

    This is since the last power cycle about 15 minutes ago. 3G bars are solidly on and android.process.acore has 1.43 MB received already
     
  4. JustDave

    JustDave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery at 50%. 1d 2h 13s since unplugged. Cell standby 48% Phone idle 35% Android system 8% Voice calls 3% Camera 3% Display 3%.
    All apps: Talk: Menu: More: Sign out. / All apps: Talk: Menu: More: Settings: All unchecked.
    Settings: Accounts & sync: News and Stocks turned off.
    Haven't missed a thing and my battery life as you can see is great!
     
  5. Biggest Fro

    Biggest Fro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    17
    That's a lot of Data in 15 minutes. :eek:

    Try updating firmware maybe?

    I'm stumped
     
  6. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had the same issue. Downloaded spare parts, and the calendar was using a lot of battery/network. Something called "UID 10006" was as well. I've posted up about it but heard nothing from anyone else.

    Do a hard reset. Your battery will be great afterward.
     
    WordIsBorn likes this.
  7. ss220

    ss220 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks. How do I do a hard reset?
     
  8. 84guy

    84guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    46
    you logged into Facebook for sense? that can take alot of data if your friends keep updating status/pics, it syncs ALL your facebook friends (stupid htc had it right in 1.5 on the hero and had to change it in 2.1) so if you have 100s of friends that could very well add up to 30mb of pics and status updates

    to fix it just log out of facebook for sense

    menu>settings>accounts & sync
     
    finndo77 and WordIsBorn like this.
  9. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    I had the same exact problem yesterday. Was loosing 10%-20% battery life per hour. Hard reset fixed it for me (Settings>Privacy>Factory Data Reset).
     
  10. vacoray

    vacoray Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you did a hard reset, did you have to to an update like we did when we first got out phones? I think it was the sd card fix/update.
     
  11. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    I'm pretty sure you don't have to. Those updates stick and you don't have to re-update. You can check manually though after you hard reset, menu > settings > system updates > HTC software update
     
  12. Fighton

    Fighton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, you don't have to redo the update after a hard reset.
     
  13. WordIsBorn

    WordIsBorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am glad you brought this up. I was getting about 15-16 hours out of my EVO with 1 hour voice calls, a couple hours of web surfing, with the usual texting, and voicemail. Suddenly yesterday my battery life went in the toilet. I had to charge twice yesterday, and had to put my phone on the charger today after only 7 hours of typical use. I looked up battery usage, and the android.process.acore has recieved 64MB of data just within the last 4 hours!!!!!

    The only app I have installed since the change in battery life is the youtube ripper, and that coincides directly with my poor battery performance. I am going to delete the youtube ripper, and see if that is the culprit just in case someone else has the issue.
     
  14. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Another way to see what is running on your phone when it should be sleeping is to download Spare Parts. Load the app and go to battery history, change other usage to partial wake usage. You'll see a list of things that are using up your battery while it's on standby.
     
  15. ss220

    ss220 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, I think I am having some success! Thanks to everyone for the suggestions. I did two thing and I am not sure which one did the trick. I am now at almost 9 hours of moderate use and I am still at 70%. Some web surfing, a video clip, emailed the 8 Meg clip, regular email syncs and 20 minutes of GPS navigation. The GPS has been on for approximately 5 hours.

    I took 84guy's suggestion and disabled auto syncing for Facebook. I also formatted my memory card as described in another thread. I ALMOST did a hard reset, but thought I would wait and do that as a last resort. Doesn't look like that will be necessary. Right now I am a happy camper...keeping my fingers crossed.

    Actually, as I finished typing this I also remembered that I updated my Qik app today, but I doubt that had any impact on these results.
     
  16. WordIsBorn

    WordIsBorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    OK, so I think between ss220, armandov99, and my own experience combined with suggestion by 84guy, I am almost certain I have found the culprit to the android.process.acore recieving large amounts of data.......................

    It is Facebook for HTC sense! I dont know what is causing it, but after suddenly having such poor battery performance the last couple days, I tried making each change individually so i could isolate the cause.

    At first I thought that it wouldnt be Facebook for HTC sense, as 84guy mentioned becasue I had it set to sync only once every eight hours, so I didnt go there right away

    I tied uninstalling each app I had loaded individually while then turning the phone off, and back on and letting it run for a while, and checking my battery usage. The android.process.acore was using data like crazy after each time.

    I used ATK and tried killing off individual apps then plugging in to reset battery usage stats, and checking usage. Still had android.process.acore eating away at my battery.

    Finally I removed my Facebook for HTC sense account. POOF - No more android.process.acore in my battery usage. I think this makes sense as armandov99 said that the calendar was constantly running for him, and Facebook for HTC sense syncs your events and friends b-day etc. from Facebook.

    I again signed in to Facebook for HTC sense, and everything is great. Been off the charger for 6 hours with normal use, and still have 70% battery remaining!

    I had been signed in to Facebook for HTC sense ever since picking up my phone, so I dont know what changed, but it had definately gone rouge on my phone.
     
  17. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    129
    so you signed out of facebook for htc sense, and signed back in? you can't use friend stream w/o being signed into facebook for htc sense, right?
     
  18. anonymous2

    anonymous2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wordisborn, I had just read this thread yesterday, and to my surprise, this was totally swallowing huge amounts of data in a matter of minutes on my device! I too, removed the Facebook for HTC Sense and it stopped. I signed back into it again today, and it looks like it may be gone. I hope it doesn't show its ugly face again! I'm almost paranoid it'll come back when I'm not looking and kill my battery. I have it to update only once a day now, unless I manually update it myself. Any clue as to what it is in facebook for sense, that triggers this unbelievable downloading?
     
  19. WordIsBorn

    WordIsBorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7

    I dont think Friendstream will pull your Facebook info if you are not signed in to Facebook for HTC sense, but the standard Facebook widget will still work. You will have to use the "remove account" button to stop syncing with Facebook for HTC sense, as it does not allow you to turn off syncing indicvidully for this. After you remove you can go ahead and set it back up right away and you should be good to go.
     
  20. WordIsBorn

    WordIsBorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7

    I have no idea what is happening for it to start using so much data. My only guess from some earlier posts is that it hangs up when syncing the calendar, and never stops. Almsot like it is in a constant sync instead of every xx amount of hours that you have set in your preferences. I am glad you found it, and killed it!

    I was worried about it showing back up, but with the way it eats the battery I will be able to tell something is not right within the first couple hours, and its easy enough to remove the account and re-sync. Hopefully HTC fixes the bug.
     
  21. FSWC

    FSWC Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad I found this thread. I've apparently used almost 2 gigs of data in about a week of owning my Evo. Same thing was happening, I was getting the arrows showing data being downloaded but was not even using the phone. Now I do surf alot but nowhere enough to use that much data that soon.

    I did have facebook with sense signed in and after reading this I disabled it. I even took off friendsteam for good measure. Hopefully this will fix it. Battery was getting hammered pretty good too.
     
  22. vipervin

    vipervin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem and it's been driving me nuts. Since yesterday, this acore app downloaded 131 MB of data !!

    I removed my Facebook account and turned off background data syncing, but this acore app is still going.
     
  23. WordIsBorn

    WordIsBorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7

    After you remove your Facebook for HTC sense account; plug your EVO in for a moment and then back off, or turn the power off and back on. then let it run for a bit, and check your battery usage. You have to either plug in and then remove the charger, or restart otherwise it will still be displaying the information from when it was using android.process.acore from before you disabled your account.
     
  24. optikalillusi0n

    optikalillusi0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    25
    This is probably a dumb question, but what is the difference between the facebook app and the facebook for sense app ?
     
  25. dr g

    dr g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    187
    I was noticing massive data usage (1.3G in 2 weeks with minor media downloading) ... noticed acore was pulling 10MB/hr! Did the delete facebook for sense account and re-add, and the data pulling stopped. This is a good fix as far as I'm concerned, and something for people to watch out for.
     

Share This Page

Loading...