What is ROM used for in a phone?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jaydenrobins08

    jaydenrobins08 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering what ROM is used for in phones. I know that it stands for Randomly Accessible Memory but I was wondering I need to get a phone that has more than 512 MB because the Thunderbolt has approx. 712MB.
     

    Advertisement
  2. double

    double Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    RAM is what you are asking about, not ROM.
     
  3. Crude

    Crude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    129
  4. gallandof

    gallandof Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,927
    Likes Received:
    296
    RAM on a phone is very similar to that on a computer, its the memory used for running programs. And with droid being able to multitask more ram always a good thing. Im not sure if were at a point where we need more than 512 but more can never hurt.
     
  5. UserName872

    UserName872 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    89
    Okay first, it's not called Randomly Accessible Memory. It's called Random Access Memory and that is what your phone uses to manage running apps and other data in real time. That is entirely different from ROM which is "Read Only Memory".

    Refer to the "Let Me Google That For You" Post above.
     
  6. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Ok, so a Thunderbolt is going to have 712mb of RAM and a 1GHz processor. The Bionic is going to have 512mb of RAM and a dual core 1GHz processor (which I'm guessing is two 1GHz processors). Will one be head and shoulders above the other?
     
  7. double

    double Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    30
    It is not two processors. One processor with dual cores. I can't speak about performance differences but obviously the dual core will outperform the single. To what degree and in what tasks it will do so, I don't know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...