What is the best ROM available for my rooted cdma hero


Last Updated:

  1. diowk

    diowk Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone. I finally figured out how to root my phone and now I want to put the best, coolest, and fastest ROM available on it! :) I have absolutely no idea what this would be so could someone throw me some suggestions. Right now Im downloading VillainROM 12.0 for its live wallpapers but thats it. I dont really know if its any good or not. (HTC Hero Roms: VillainROM 12.0)

    What do you guys think.
     

    Advertisement
  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Might get more responses in the GSM Hero section
     
  3. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'd definitely recommend staying away from the GSM ROMs if you have a CDMA hero, simply for the fact that i've seen them sometimes recommend a radio with whichever certain ROM, and if you flash that, you'll be able to see how well a hero can skip across the water, because it will be useless.

    As far as best ROMs, this question gets asked a lot, and really it comes down to personal preference. Go to the XDA forums for the Hero CDMA and then look in the development section. Fresh ROMs are pretty popular, as are the darchdroid/froyo ROMs, but there you can find many of the ROMs and see what people say about them, see screenshots, etc.
     
  4. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah, you really need to figure out whether you have a GSM hero or a CDMA hero, or you are going to run a good chance of bricking your phone. Who is your Carrier?
     
  5. diowk

    diowk Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a cdma hero identical to the sprint except mine doesnt have the sprint logo in the top right. My carrier is MTS. I thought if you flash the wrong rom you can just do a nandroid recovery to get back to where you were... is that wrong
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    That is correct, except if you flash a Rom that comes with a radio update that is for a gsm Rom, your phone will be no better than a paperweight.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Play it safe and don't even try a GSM Rom.

    As far as what is best, it's up to you to decide. What do you want from a Rom?
     

Share This Page

Loading...