What is the best rom for me?


Last Updated:

  1. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    i like sense, a2sd, and the most available memory i can get. I have aloysius but it only lets me have 87Mb.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    Sense-able?
     
    TDianna likes this.
  3. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Sense-Able runs HTC's Sense UI, which although it's really nice, isn't a lightweight in terms of memory.

    If I knew what the OP meant by "only lets me have 87Mb" meant, I could tell what I have with Sense-Able.
     
  4. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
  5. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Only available app memory is 87mb after installing aloysius.
     
  6. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
  7. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Still don't know what you mean... "app memory", as in how much space you have to install apps ? That's really not that important, IMO.

    Where are you getting this number from ?
     
  8. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I'm wondering the same. Are you getting this number from Advanced Task Killer (ATK)? That would be your system memory. If so, 87mb is more than I've ever gotten. If you mean amount of room that you have to install apps, that number is negligible, since you will be installing your apps to your SD card.
     
  9. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Im talking about actual storage under settings, sd card and storage. Im now using zen v6. I ask because i dont know how to use a2sd atm. I Partition the sd card by clicking ext 2 to ext 3. It dont work, not sure what im doing wrong I read the instructions a while back.
     
  10. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/83746-how-set-up-apps2sd.html

    go there and scroll down aways it has some useful infomation
    and you dont partion it that way. in recovery you go to partion sd card let it do its thing THEN you do ext2 to ext3.
    and Evil Eris is good if you want sense, and i think framework said they were going to release a new version this week

    correct way to partion
    To get apps2sd to work you need to:
    1. backup your sd card(copy all your files on to pc)
    2. boot into recovery
    3. select Partition sd card
    4. select Partition sd
    5. when that is done select SD:ext2 to ext3 you can use the default values when it asks
    6. Flash rom then you can copy all your files back to your sd card.
     
  11. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    when i select partition card it asks me to select amount of MB to transfer or something like that. i believe it asks minimum and maximum?
     
  12. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    just use default, i think mine was 512(half a gig)
     
  13. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    That number means nothing.... It's based on how many apps you install and I guess, to some extent, the size of the ROM you use. Heh, I'm using Sense-Able and currently have 116mb free.
     
  14. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    i think what automatically poped up on mine was 32mb when i hit partition.
     
  15. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats the file swap
     
  16. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    meaning, thats how many MB i've used so far? that's the amount im selecting and moving to my sd card? If i don't backup my sd card will i end up removing the texts i need?
     
  17. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    text are stored on the phone not memory card. and im not sure what file swap is lol. but if you dont backup your mem card you WILL lose pics,songs,nandroid backups, etc. because when your partion the SDcard it deletes EVERYTHING off of it.
     
  18. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    A swap file is space that the OS uses as "fake RAM" or memory. On Windows, it's similar to "virtual memory".
     
  19. theboo7

    theboo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    so is it better to have it bigger or smaller
     
  20. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    It only uses what it needs. Make it too big and you "waste" space; make it too small and it doesn't have enough. When I don't know, I trust the people who make apps and utilities and use the defaults they select.
     
  21. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    On my zen expresso v6 rom it wont let me send mms it says generic something or other.
     
  22. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    "unable to send message, generic network failure."
     
  23. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    MMS issues seem to be quite common on non-Eris-based ROMs.
     
  24. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Any fixes? Tried apn trick didn't work.
     
  25. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you ditch sense, White Widow is my personal fav. OC, app2sd and little footprint (memory wise)...it's fast and snappy as hell too!
     

Share This Page

Loading...