What speed is everyone running at with the phone being stable?


Last Updated:

  1. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just tried to oc to 1.3 ghz, tons of random reboots... so i went down to 1.1 ghz, with the same thing. So I guess I'm stuck at 1ghz for now. Could this be the ROM I am running (smoked glass v4.0) or is 1 ghz just the max for my phone to be stable? How fast are you guys going while staying stable?
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I've been at 1.3 since Monday morning. Not one reboot. Before that, I ran at 1.1 for over a week.
     
  3. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    7
    What ROM are you using... I think this may have an effect
     
  4. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    14
    Im running 1gHz, and I love it, soooo fast an no problems at all. Im running Sholesmod 2.0.3
     
  5. jimbubba3

    jimbubba3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is 950 mhz a lot slower than 1ghz? What rom is the best if I want to try going 1ghz?
     
  6. i ride a burton

    i ride a burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im on BB 7.5 right now that just came out. It upped the speed to 1g instead of 950mhz but im keeping mine at 950 for now, its plenty fast enough for me, Im debating on trying the new taz kernel though with the 1300 that joe is using
     
  7. dimobius

    dimobius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im running bugless beast at 800 with obviously no problems at all, but I feel like bumping it up soon
     
  8. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    It all depends on your processor, 1300 wont work for everyone, it's not so much which ROM is more stable. Every processor is different ever so slightly, and some will be able to handle the 1300, but others wont. Still, 950-1000 is damn good considering stock is 550, heh. Don't push your phones too hard guys. Joe just got lucky with a good processor and not all of ours will be able to do that. If you're getting any sort of reboots, ramp it down a notch or two.
     
  9. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    I've been running 1GHz for a couple days with no problems. The governor in SetCPU is set on "ondemand", and I have my lows set to 250MHz, so it's not throttled up all the time. But I never have any FC issues, it's lightening fast, and the batter life has improved due to the ability to throttle down while not in use.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    The ROM has little to do with it. It's more luck of the draw. Some processors are fine at 900, some at 1GHz, and some at 1.3GHz. Mine just doesn't seem to care. I bought the TempMonitor app and it's really running no hotter than o/c'ed at 800.

    And yes ... it is faaaaaaast!
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Better lucky than good. :cool:
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1300.jpg
      1300.jpg
      File size:
      48.7 KB
      Views:
      427
  12. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    haha bastard :)
     
  13. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yeah, mine went buggy at 1.1, so I'm at 1.0 and it's fast enough for me.

    Rather have that than a microphone that sounds like a dryer full of socks when I speak...
     
  14. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603

    Just you wait that will be the next cool voice effect in Pop music.
     
  15. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    7
    Dang! I really wanted that 1.3 ghz!
     
  16. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still curious though, what ROM are you running right now joe?
     
  17. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185

    You're such a speed demon. haha. I'm only at 950 but getting ready to up that after I flash the new BB rom.
     
  18. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1

    I know I've read them in another thread but what are solid standard operating temperatures (norm/max) an what are you running at 800 and 1.3?
     
  19. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1

    I'm running at 1ghz right now on the bb rom and suprisingly I can tell a difference. Also, I've run a few benchmarks with set cpu and I'm getting the following averages

    550: ~435ms
    800: ~290ms
    950: ~250ms
    1000: ~225ms
    Again, these are average scores based on approximately 10 benchmark tests(for each speed) at about 1 sec intervals.
     
  20. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm gonna try 1.1 GHz again... I see joe has his setcpu set to ondemand, I had mine on performance. You guys think this might make a difference?

    EDIT: Haha seems to be working perfectly at 1.1 GHz now just by changing to ondemand in setcpu :)
     
  21. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603

    Ya, performance can hurt big time in SetCPU, I've seen several people have problems with that setting.
     
  22. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Can't even boot any boot image over the 1Ghz Taz boot image, and running at 950 or 1000 doesn't go well w/my device, so I stick to 800.

    Running bugless beast 8.6.
     
  23. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    I've been running Solid (not a singe FC) for over 24 hr.s at 1.3GHZ using Taz's latest kernel... mostly stock otherwise, no custom rom just standard custom on stock... no 2.1 apps yet... so really only rooted to get ability to load the OC kernel.
     
  24. brettlewis

    brettlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    49
    hmmm, my max setting is 1ghz. what did you do that allows you to go up to 1.3ghz? Im running mine at 800mhz just cause that speed seems to make the phone snappy enough, didn't notice any difference at 1ghz. I figure I would leave it at the low end to make it last longer.
     
  25. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    You have to get Taz's 1.3 kernel to run 1.3. If you're running Pete's Bugless Beast, he only added Taz's kernel that goes up to 1Ghz to his package. So you'd either have to flash Taz's 1.3 kernel separately, or wait for pete to include it or use a different package entirely (maybe sholes has the 1.3?).
     

Share This Page

Loading...