What to buy for my 11 year old son.

Last Updated:

1. Shamrock454

Shamrock454 New Member This Topic's Starter

I am a lifelong IT professional and a very happy owner of an EVO 4G. Unfortunately, my 11 year old son LOVES my phone as well, and nabs it every chance he gets. This is not an ideal situation, given a "Wookie Howl" ringtone turns a lot of heads at a business meeting. With Christmas coming, I want to get him a device of his own, but not a phone. He has hinted about the Ipod Touch, but I depise the thought of drinking the Steve Jobs kool-aid and buying anything from that tech nazi.

So with a pile of Android devices out there, what is the best device for my son, in the 100 - 200 dollar price range? Hopefully something that supports 2.2, so he doesn't lose any functionality from my phone. The reviews on Amazon & Newegg are basically useless, as they are full of frustrated Droid noobs bashing what they don't understand.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Shamrock454

Advertisement
  2. daprospecta

daprospecta Member

I would get him the cheap 100$ tablet from walgreens. If your son is anything like I was at 11(technology inclined for a kid and curious) then he will probably break it within a year figuring out how the thing works like I did with my first pc. He probably won't notice the lag like we would or that it has less Ram than most tablets, he'll just be happy to have a tablet that's his. Just my two cents. GL on your decision.

3. uniquenameEVO

uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

I'm in virtually the same boat. I'm leaning towards the archos 43 or 70 for my 10 and 11 year olds. I know the 70 is above your price stated, but it really seems great on paper so far. We'll see this week.

I considered the $100 walgreens one also...but I spend enough time working on my own stuff. I don't want to deal with research and roms. :)

4. jtbnet

jtbnet Well-Known Member