What was your first handheld / PDA type device

Last Updated:

1. h4x0rj3ff

h4x0rj3ff Chemist

My first device with a touch screen was the palm zire 31. I bought it after my mom bought the palm zire 21. I loved that device so much! After that I bought a palm tx and that was even better

2. cammykool

cammykool Well-Known Member

my first touchscreen phone was an LG chocolate touch
  3. h4x0rj3ff

h4x0rj3ff Chemist

I had the chocolate flip thru Alltel. Best phone I ever had!
  4. Speed Daemon

Speed Daemon Disabled

Mine was the original Palm Pilot. I got it at a discount because tha law firm I was working for represented them. I still have it somewhere.
  5. h4x0rj3ff

h4x0rj3ff Chemist

My zire fell victim to a magnetic surface plate at work (I'm a machinist) i set it on the surface plate and it had a crt off effect and it never turned on again :(
  6. dontpanicbobby

dontpanicbobby Guides Guide

The HP Jornada 548 Pocket PC.

The closes thing to a Star Trek Communicator ever produced. Except of course you couldn't make calls on it. ;)
  7. 9to5cynic

9to5cynic Well-Known Member

:/ Mine was a Blackberry Curve 8330 or 8830... doesn't really matter. But damn, that was a fine device.

And I'm not sure a smartphone really counts in this category, but whatever, I'm counting it. :p
  8. Stuntman

Stuntman Well-Known Member

I got the exact same thing. My wife gave it to me for our engagement. I gave her a diamond ring. I got her something that will last forever and she got me something that becomes obsolete in a few years. :) I still have it in our display case.
  9. mikedt

mikedt 你好 Guide

A Tandy "Radio Shack" TRS-80 pocket computer.

It was magic for me back in the day....
    It looks like a calculator, but you could program it in BASIC. 1500 bytes of RAM.

I also had Psion Organizers, an Amstrad PenPad which was a cheapo Apple Newton lookalike and it was horrible, a Sinclair Z88.

This thing really was dreadful.....but it was cheap, that's what Amstrad did.