What Weather App Do You Use?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    I currently am using the Stock weather app.

    The reason I don't like it is because it is attached to a clock for a 90 year old.

    Can you remove the clock widget and just have the weather, or is it an all-in-one?

    I searched the market and I see the weather channel and the weather bug.

    Anyone use these instead? I have used weather bug on my pc in the past and I found it was terrible - almost malware like - always stuck in the background sucking memory and looking ugly.

    :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. GAUG3

    GAUG3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    I use Weather Channel for forcasts. I use Radar Now for animated radar.
     
  3. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Weatherbug elite for forecast, radar and home widget. Hands down the best weather app available and is much better than the iphone version.

    Weatherbug on the pc is useless, but on the android its top notch.
     
    jamor likes this.
  4. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761


    I'll give it a try - good to hear it's not like the PC weatherbug which is definitely useless and annoying!
     
  5. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Get the elite version and use the widget to replace the stock weather widget. Thats what i do and i love it. I can't live without it. Its well worth the $1-2, and if you don't like it you can always get a refund and go back to the free version. But i'm 100% positive you'll love it and will wonder why anyone would ever use anything else. In fact while i was without an android phone for 10 days i was so clueless about the weather i bought the ipod touch version and it wasn't nearly as good. If this is the future of android apps vs iphone/ipod touch, apple has no chance of keeping its marketshare.
     
  6. RWCouck

    RWCouck Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also use Weatherbug, but the free version. What do I get with the elite?

    Does anyone know if there is a weather widget that you can toggle on screen through cities instead of having to go into the full program?
     
  7. Sorbert

    Sorbert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    I use weatherbug elite and as stated its great use the map and elite widgets on home screen. heres a link to what the elite version does elite
     
  8. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    find a clear section of a home screen, tap +, Widget, scroll down to HTC Weather widget.

    There are 3 different sized weather widgets, a full page, a wide bar and a narrow bar.

    It does location based as well as cities you manually enter :)
     
    jamor likes this.
  9. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    I use the weather channel app. I was using the stock app but HTC needs to work on the location service as it never seems to be able to pick up my location when i'm not at home. The funny thing is that the weather channel app is spot on with reporting my location so it's not a problem with the phone or android. I'm gonna look into weather bug.
     
  10. Tony Touch

    Tony Touch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    35
    Anyone have a screen shot of the home screen using WeatherBug Elite as opposed to the stock? Thanks.
     
  11. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    The widget i use is the weatherbug elite one, it takes up 4 x 1 which is one row of icons and frees up a row for me to put other icons on the main home page. So i have the weatherbug elite widget at the top and 3 rows of icons below it.
     
  12. VTENGR

    VTENGR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    20
    What's the difference b/w Elite and Free beside the lack of adds? I just downloaded the free version and the widget tells you everything you need.
     
  13. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
  14. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    stock HTC :)
     
  15. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761

    Appreciate the tip - Awesome you can return it for complete refund too!

    I'll be giving it a try.
     
  16. pixel816

    pixel816 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Weather Channel - it has radar with google maps.
     
  17. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    +1

    Weather bug looks awesome indeed....but I just use weather channel on a "need to know" basis. For me I don't want a widget constantly updating and polling, but then I'm a battery life freak so maybe that is why :)

    I look at the weather then close it. How often does the weather change on a minute to minute basis unless severe weather is on the rampage : )
     
  18. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    So do these widgets need GPS on or do they do just fine without?
     
  19. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    Weahter channel does NOT need gps on
     
  20. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    They'll get your location within 1500 or less meters(enough to get the town) just by cell tower triangulation.

    I leave GPS location based services off unless i need them and i get town weather just fine.
     
  21. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    In the midwest it changes by the hour. Last week we had no rain in the forcast all week and then thursday and friday nights we had tornado watch's and warnings and severe thunderstorms. It was suppose to rain today as of the forecast 4 days ago and now its sunny without a cloud in the sky. Unless you have frequent updates you'll go on thinking everything is hunky dorey and get blasted when you are least expecting it. This time of year tornados are rampant and rain is frequent, normally we even have 30 mph winds for weeks at a time. So yeah unless you live in san diego where its 70-80 degrees and sunny year round you probably want frequent updates.
     
  22. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Interesting, I'd prefer not having to keep GPS on - I don't think I need it for anything except google maps/directions in which I would just toggle it on for that instance..
     
  23. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761

    Does weather bug draw from 3g or gps?
     
  24. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    3g, i don't use gps with it. I'm sure you could if you wanted to, but its not needed.
     
  25. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Weatherbug:

    "My Location" allows GPS tracking to provide precise weather conditions for your location.

    I'm just wondering if it still works if you just want to pick a city and draw from 3g.

    I realize you can use GPS for more precise weather.
     

Share This Page

Loading...