What's going on with Froyo Basebands?


Last Updated:

  1. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    I'm using C_01.43.01P and have been increasingly falling back to 1xrtt over the past several weeks since installing Froyo-based roms. I had 3G almost all the time when I was still on 2.1 with a downgraded baseband, so I'm pretty sure I could be getting and keeping 3G more than I'm currently able to.

    I looked, but I'm wondering if there is a list of Foyo basebands that people can try and see what works best in their geographic area?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. eclsnowman

    eclsnowman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had to go back to C_01.3E.03P in Minnesota because of this very reason. All the Froyo Leaked Basebands (Peter Alfonso releases) had me at 1X half the time. My data coverage was nill and battery drain was terrible. No problems at all with C_01.3E.03P - Original 2.1 baseband update. I guess if it ain't broke don't fix it.

    PS: I hope to official 2.2 update has a more functional Baseband for me.
     
  3. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    I just now flashed back to C_01.3E.01P which is what I had before going to Froyo. Data connection is 3G and fast and calls sound great. I'll test this good today and report back.
     
  4. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    Got a link for C_01.3E.01P? I would like to try it as I've been experiencing similar problems in California.
     
  5. Jeffery

    Jeffery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    61
    VeryApe and magdelaine like this.
  6. trikotret

    trikotret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5

    Do you guys think this has to do with the bad battery life some people are having especially when Froyo came out. My battery life is lousy. Tried different ROms and kernels. My signal keeps switching between 1x and 3G :confused:
     
  7. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44

    I wonder what the difference is between -03p and -01p?

    My results today are spectacular. Not once did my Droid fall back to 1x. Not only that, but I stream music and talk shows all day everyday and take phone calls in-between. With the Froyo baseband, I was always having to reboot the app and sometimes my Droid in order to return to streaming, and then it would often stream choppy even without phone call interruptions. Now, whenever I take a phone call, my talk show or streamed music picks right up with no residual problems. I had forgotten what this was like!

    This is also an accolade to the superb Verizon service that we have. Verizon rocks!
     
  8. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    3
    03p is newer and was released when 2.1 came out.

    I switched back to C_01.3E.03P in So Cal because of bad signal strength. C_01.3E.03P seems to work best for me.
     
  9. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    im just curious what baseband is everyone using with this rom? im currently using c_01.43.01p. i have read another thread in the root section where others are having problems with it. since using it i have experienced decreased battery life and am wondering if this may be the cause.
     
  10. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    dp sorry
     
  11. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    My .02 for what it's worth... personally... I don't think the baseband has any direct relationship on the performance of any ROM and vice-versa. I do think, however, that it can impact battery consumption because a bad baseband may cause your phone to work harder than a good one for the area in which you use your Droid.

    For example, I use a Froyo-base ROM and switched just today to a baseband I used when I had 2.1 and the quality of my data service has improved dramatically. So I have to conclude, based on my experience today, that rather than determining which baseband is best to use with BB, I suggest basing your decision on which one works best in your geographical area. I have to think that the easier it is for your Droid to do its job efficiently, the better it will be on your battery.

    But I'm not a techie person, so I could be way off base here.
     
    digdug1 likes this.
  12. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    Thanks! I'm trying to get to the bottom of my battery problems. It was doing fine before I rooted. Just now I've been surfing the web for about an hour and I am down to 60% from a fresh charge! I too went back to this baseband and no real improvement.
     
  13. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    Hmmm, my battery life has tanked since going back to this "old" baseband. I may try the step before the latest, "1" instead of "3".

    That sounds strange digdug, what ROM are you on? And kernel? My guess is that there is something, either data or GPS, that is going constantly. You can see what is using up your battery by checking it in settings.
     
  14. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    Yea. I'm running bbv.04 with chevy1 ulv 1.1. I checked bat usage and shows display used 36% web 33%. I'm wondering if perhaps my batt is toast.
     
  15. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    Earlier this year when we went to 2.1, many of us noticed the baseband that came with 2.1 was causing us to fall back to 1x a lot of the time. I don't recall which baseband we all had at that time.

    Then, along came Billy Galbreath who found a way to revert back to the previous baseband that gave everyone the great data coverage we were used to. This is how I first got the "1" baseband that I just flashed back to today:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/79933-baseband-downgrade-01p-easy-way-update-zip.html

    Since going back to this baseband, I haven't seen any noticeable changes in my battery life one way or the other. I alternate between 3 batteries, so I haven't been very concerned about it, other than noticing that nothing has improved it. My motivation for going back to "1" is because my data coverage sucked with the "Froyo" baseband I was using.

    Maybe Digdug1 could try this one and see how it goes with the battery... every Droid is different, and it might just deliver better coverage!
     
    digdug1 and magdelaine like this.
  16. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    Well actually I get three bars reguardless of baseband. Unless I'm at work where I get no bars. I can barely text. I think this may be killing my battery. Ill see what happens this wknd
     
  17. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    i went to the verizon store to buy a battery today. i checked their droid out. it was on C_01.3E.03P. their phone had three bars of reception. mine was back on C_01.43.01P and only had two bars, so i will be reverting. oh yeah the girl who worked there had a droid x. she said she loves it and suggested i wait and buy one but i cant upgrade for a while so...
     

Share This Page

Loading...