What's the difference?

Last Updated:

1. KaveMahn

KaveMahn Active Member This Topic's Starter

I have ROM Manager installed on my rooted Droid. I am trying to figure out the difference between Clockworkmod and SPRecovery. I'm currently running Smoked Glass v.6.0, but would like to try some different ROMs. Also when I change ROMs do I have to rebuy all my apps? Any help given is greatly appreciated as I'm still a noob.

Advertisement
  2. datsyuk

datsyuk Active Member

Your apps are tracked by your Google account so if you wipe your data they'll still be under file that you did buy it and can just re-download it. I'm not sure with the specific differences but I prefer Clockwork because I don't have to keep renaming files on my sdcard and can restore/backup and install new ROMs from a menu with a choice of ROMs on my droid.

KaveMahn likes this.
  3. KaveMahn

KaveMahn Active Member This Topic's Starter

Oh OK thanks for the info. Now that I know I will try out some new ROMs.

4. ech0

ech0 Active Member

I can't give you all the nitty-gritty technical details, but it basically has to do with Koush's (Clockwork) vs. SirPsycho's (SPRecovery) interpretation of the Nandroid backup system. Clockwork is a "pure" nandroid backup, while SPR has made some changes to the Nandroid system.

In the few weeks after the Nexus One 2.1 ROM was modded to run on the Droid SPRecovery was probably the most popular recovery. When Koush released ROM Manager -- which included and required Clockwork -- Clockwork Recovery became exponentially more popular.

Point being that SPR and Clockwork recoveries are not compatible with each other.

KaveMahn likes this.
  5. shrink57

shrink57 Well-Known Member

Just to point out when using ROM Manager it is no biggy as ROM Manager makes it quite easy and painless to switch back and forth from SPRecovery to Clockwork.

KaveMahn likes this.
  6. esmith818

esmith818 Well-Known Member