What's with Android phones running some Operating Systems...

Last Updated:

1. wamason

wamason Member This Topic's Starter

I just purchased my first Android phone. I'll admit that I'm new at it but not new to computers since I have an extensive IBM mainframe background which is about as helpful as snow in the summer!

I owned an HTC Touch Diamond (actually several after returning them), and it ran on the Windows Mobile 6 platform as most of you may already know. It pretty much did what I wanted it to, but at a price. Other than having to charge it after about 45 minutes of talk time (if I was lucky), it made a great cigarette lighter!

OK enough of the funny stuff...:D

I just got an Android phone like I said...a Sanyo Zio (Android 2.1 (Eclair) OS). I really like it a lot so far with a few BIG exceptions:

-1. It does not recognize my Plantronics (or any other Bluetooth earpiece although after placing a call I can use it. I was told that this option will be available with the Android 2.2 Froyo update due out in sometime in February (as told to me by a senior Sanyo tekkie).
    I wonder what would have ben the big deal making this work with any Android OS since it worked flawlessly on my non-Android V950 Renegade?

-2. Why with the external SD capacity of 32GB and an internal 256MB storage capacity with 512MB RAM (as I was told), does most everything downloaded from the Android market get placed in the internal memory rendering the phone extremely limited to put only maybe 30 or 40 apps on? What's worse, other that being able to backup your apps (I use ASTRO (excellent so far BTW)), you can not dictate where your apps are put, or reloaded from your back to.

-3. Are large photo albums and video files put on the external SD card?