Whats with this crap browser


Last Updated:

  1. jsbaugh

    jsbaugh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Surfing the web is an overall nightmare on the Hero. Its laggy and the font is all jacked up. Very hard to read unless you zoom way in. Are others having issues with this? I also have an iphone 3GS and there is no comparison in terms of browsing. I have also noticed youtube videos are pretty choppy on the Hero. Is there a fix for this?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you updated the ROM?

    Also, where in the world are you and with which mobile/cell company?


    Chegs.
     
  3. jsbaugh

    jsbaugh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im in the US on Sprint and have not updated the ROM. They just released this a couple of days ago so Im not sure if there is an update.
     
  4. leeladisky

    leeladisky Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0

    How do you update?

    Lee
     
  5. spenspuma

    spenspuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    12
    IPhone fan-boy.

    My internet is perfectly clear and not jaggy at all and I'm not even on the new Rom.

    YouTube videos fine using WiFi, slower using 3g but that's expected
     
  6. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    No browsing problems here either - every bit as good as my wifes iPhone 3gs if not better!
     
  7. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Hmm...I wonder if this is another one of those posts by one of those people that Apple pays to post slander about Android devices on boards where hesitant buyers come for additional information. A friend of mine use to do it before he actually tried using my Hero and then ended up getting one for himself. He had the paycheck to prove it and all.

    Anyways, the only time you'll run into lag when browsing on the Hero is when you go onto a site with a lot of flash (ie flash ads, games, or etc). You can turn off Flash by going into the Browser settings and uncheck the Enable Javascript option. You can also adjust text size and formatting and etc there.
     
  8. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    He might be just a troll, but the browser does leave something to be desired. Can anyone play Urban Dead on it? For me, anytime I click on an adjacent building to move there, I get redirected to login screen again. My browser settings are pretty much default, only thing I changed was homepage.
    This is a simple web game - no fancy ajax or javascript, just good ol' HTML forms. :confused:

    Apart from this, I quite like the browser. Quick, doesn't get in the way, while getting the work done.
     
  9. Kvande

    Kvande New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the marked place, you find a mini opera browser. I didnt like it that much, but It was slightly faster.
     
  10. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    leeladisky,

    The availability of an update depending where you are in the world, so if you could let us know someone will be able to advise.

    Also, which mobile/cell provider you're with would be advantageous.


    Chegs.
     
  11. Michel Dover

    Michel Dover Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me it works perfectly. This is not related to any update. It seems that you just do not like it, which is fine - otherwise everybody would use one product and not so many variations of the same concept.
     
  12. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sounds to me like the Hero's inbuilt iPhone detector have kicked in and caused the unit to go into lock down mode, hoping this will result in the Hero being sent back, so it can be given to someone who will give it more than five minutes before deciding it's "crap"!?! ;)


    Chegs.
     
  13. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Note to self: Do not go near my sister while carrying my Hero. :p
     
  14. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Works just fine here in the UK.
     
  15. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have the Hero and iPod touch. I would say that there is no real difference in performance. But the Hero definitely has more features.
     
  16. jsbaugh

    jsbaugh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im not trolling, its just a question. I have both the iphone 3GS and Hero. My major issue with the browser is the text more than anything. I have to zoom in to really view anything. If I want to view the whole page on the screen then I cant read any of the text. That is the big difference between the Iphone that has no issues with that.
    For those that say its just as fast as an iphone, put down the crack pipe. The iphone renders pages 10x faster than the hero, but that is not a big deal to me. I do like a lot of things about the hero over the iphone, just not the browser and music.
     
  17. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Sounds like your phone has problems - I've compared browsing many times side by side with my wife's 3GS and performace and fonts are similar at all zoom settings - only noticable difference is the Hero reformats to fit screen - better. One factor that may make the iPhone appear to render quicker is that no other internet process are taking place at the same time - have you looked to see if widgets may be updating?
     
  18. jsbaugh

    jsbaugh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe its a US thing on the Sprint phone. I have 30 days to try the phone and see if I like it. Hopefully they will come out with an update.
    I do enjoy a lot of the features of the phone. Is there a program to move music over to the phone or is that just drag and drop thru USB?
     
  19. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Music is simple - just drag and drop. Whilst there is no denying it would be good to have some quality desktop software to go with the phone, it is so quick and simple to put music onto it from any computer.

    BTW I think the suggestions that you were trolling was partly fuelled by the topic title - "problems with Hero browser" would have got you the help you requested without any other accusations - "crap" will always get people on the defensive:eek:
     
  20. JHands

    JHands New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe if he stuck a Apple badge on the back and got ripped off when buying the phone, he may feel a bit happier with his internet browser!
     
  21. bunt83

    bunt83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try checking you've got the browser settings to 'Mobile View'

    It might help...
     
  22. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    That does kind of restrict things - you should be able to see pages in their full desktop glory. Mobile view is really for when data is restricted/slow - not to make things look clearer.
     
  23. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    The only issue I have with my Sprint HTC Hero is that I can't get my alarm to sound off. Has anyone experienced anything like this? Any tips for resolving the issue at hand?

    Thanks! :D
     
  24. aplusmiami

    aplusmiami Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint has the latest
     
  25. bunt83

    bunt83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Check your sound settings, you've probably got your alarm volume turned down...
     

Share This Page

Loading...