Whats Wrong...What Happened...Froyo?


Last Updated:

  1. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Alright, Im not trying to bitch.... But whats going on with my phone now? Here are my problems any suggestions would be appreciated and please let me know if you guys are experiencing the same problems.

    1. Scrolling, especially when using stock browser is a little off...It seems like it takes the phone longer to register that I am sliding my finger on the phone... Its not a typical lag, just more of an unresponsiveness

    2. My Up Time and Awake Time are now equal...it was never like this before

    3. It seems that a lot of programs are constantly running, even after I go to setting:manage applications:running:force stop they still keep running...I have stopped google maps a million times already and its still running...

    4. I know this isnt a Froyo thing...but the new FB app sucks... Ppls profile pics arent showing up and it takes forever to fully load....I hate it...

    5. This just sucks...I hate when updates come out and it seems like it makes your phone worse...this happened when 2.1 came out for the hero...it absolutely sucked after that update. sigh... oh well I still love my phone...just hope I can get it back to atleast how it was before
     

    Advertisement
  2. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Ok, so what have you tried so far? I'm sure you read many threads here to figure it out...there have been a lot of threads created in the last 24 hours to answer the issues you've just mention...what have you tried so far to fix this after doing a search on these issues on this forum?
     
  3. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hard Reset is the only thing I have tried...
     
  4. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Also Updating profile now
     
  5. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    I waited and waited and profile never updated....arrgghhh
     
  6. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Do you have a wife router available? Try that.

    Do you have decent Sprint coverage where you are? Radio may be causing lag on internet based apps. If you are actually data-roaming, then updating the PRL may help here.
     
  7. Dose

    Dose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yeah coverage is good, 5 or 6 bars at all times where I am...
     
  8. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    OK...try power cycling it.
     
  9. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I don't seem to have any issues that you've said, the only issue I had with the update is that it erased all my songs on every playlist in my phone. Took me days to arrange them before... argh.. :)
     
  10. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    UPDATE: All my songs on every playlists I have returned when I took off the battery. Thank God I don't have to go through adding all those songs... :)
     
  11. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    33
    Re-update Facebook App to 1.3.1, they just released it. RE-released, I should say, as the battery drain uptime/awake time issue was brought forward. This was just yesterday. I did the update yesterday and have noticed a difference.
     
  12. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    1. go to browser, menu, settings and go to the plug-in settings and set it to on-demand. By default its showing all flash animations in the browser and that slows it down. By setting on-demand you can pick and choose when you see flash.

    2. Could be facebook, known issue with the app. It installs itself as a service and doesnt let the phone sleep.

    3. Download system panel and look at those running apps. They arent using any CPU time. My guess is google enabled them for autostart for a kind of "quick boot." You are likely wasting more battery shutting them off than they would have been when left alone.

    4. Facebook has always sucked

    5. Go through and turn all of the superfluous stuff back off, like google chat and sprint zone updates.
     
  13. Neitherfanboy

    Neitherfanboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey, where do I get me one of those WIFE routers? Aren't they the ones that also bring you beer and wash your shorts?
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  14. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Only with update 6.9.
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  15. mikeinatl

    mikeinatl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    My up and awake times are different, so I don't necessarily have a battery drain problem. But I'm not sure where/how to check which version of the Facebook App I have. How do I do that?
     
  16. whtge8

    whtge8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    Browsing the internet is almost impossible with FroYo, and I cant even see my texts because it takes about 3 seconds for the evo to catch up with what im typing. I tried everything mentioned here including a hard reset but it still sucks.
     
  17. AcBush

    AcBush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can check in the Facebook app. Press Menu > About.

    If you have the most recent version, it should say version 1.3.1

    You can go to the Market and it should tell you if you have any updates pending.
     
  18. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    are you holding it right?

    jk sorry

    look, there are relatively few people having problems after the update. HOWEVER the ones who are, the problems are significant.

    i would suggest you peruse the forum (Evo 4G) and see if anything offered helps you. ESPECIALLY under troubleshooting. a topic titled "How to fix Froyo" comes to mind...

    there is very likely to be either a setting, or an app that is causing you trouble. (most likely the latter)

    if you do as i've asked, and look through all of the troubleshooting tips provided by many hard working friends, and still you are not satisfied, let me know, and we will talk.
     
  19. mikeinatl

    mikeinatl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the info. But that brings up 2 questions:

    1. I see and use a Facebook app in the Apps window. While in the app and I press Menu, I only see two options - Settings and Logout. But when looking under Menu - Settings - Applications - Manage, I see two Facebook apps: Facebook and Facebook for HTC Sense. So I believe I'm using the Facebook App, not the one for HTC Sense. I believe the version I have is 1.2. I don't remember downloading it, and in fact, it doesn't appear when I click Downloads. it only appears when I click All. So I'm not sure why there are two.

    2. When I access the market and click Downloads (which is now under Menu), only 1 or 2 of the apps I downloaded appear there, although all of the other apps are active on the Apps window. Has anyone else had this issue, and is there a fix?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  20. airdogz13

    airdogz13 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there anything else besides these 2? is there a list somewhere? thanks
     
  21. htmlcssguru

    htmlcssguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    19
    It's the app market version that's causing the problems since it came out about the same time as the 2.2 upgrade as if it were 'optimized' for it. You can go to Menu / Settings/ Applications and select the Facebook app and there's a button that allows you to uninstall the upgrades. Then, after that, select the tab for Running and you'll see that Facebook is indeed running. Force close it (them, as there's sometimes two services running) but make sure it's not the HTC one. That's used for your friend stream.

    Once I got rid of the FB update (to 1.3.0 AND the 1.3.1) and closed those running services my battery went back to normal. Now, if I want to mess with FB, I totally skip the app and just bookmarked it and use the browser. Much easier and no more of that crap running in the background.
     
  22. htmlcssguru

    htmlcssguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    19
    Weird, I just noticed the FB app posted in the marketplace has reverted back to 1.3.0. A couple of days ago they posted 1.3.1 as the 'fix' for the battery issue. Can't find it now. At least in Appbrain. On their official page there's a whole slew of people looking for it and can't find it either. Must be redoing the redo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...