Whats wrong with my phone? *URGENT*Support


Last Updated:

  1. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    hi i just bought my esteem today at an authorized dealer and so far so good. then i was setting my wallpaper and the phone went black, then i heard the metro pcs wireless for all but the screen was still black. so i took the battery off and turned it back on and it takes a while and when the lockscreen comes up its like missing a backround and i cant slide to unlock. nothing responds, not even locking the screen and unlocking. I turned it off again and left the battery out for a bit then tried again and this time the same thing happened but now it says insert metro SIM. Nothing was responding so i took the battery out again. Now its just sitting with the battery off. Maybe since i bought it from an authorized dealer they couldve had a bad batch sitting there for a while ? Maybe it didnt come with the update like theyre supposed to come with now? Help !:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    What did you change to wallpaper with? An app?

    Also download the LG support tool and see if there is an update your phone doesn't have. If not that should fix it. If ones not available take it take first thing in the morning and warranty it.
     
  3. yahhboy

    yahhboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    86
    Make sure the sim is completely inserted if the problem persists do a factory reset.
    (It'll put your phone to out of the box)
    Edit: Shinyside is right if its not the sim card causing the issue warranty it or update it.
     
  4. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    i was changing my wallpaper with Zedge and after changing it twice the set as wallpaper button in the app was taking too long so i did it from gallery then it just went black. & idk about that lg update thing isnt that how people are bricking theyre phones?
     
  5. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    the sim is completely in . ive been using the 4g during the day just fine. i checked it again and it was in all the way. I noticed the phone didnt come with an sd card. i thought it was supposed to come with one?
     
  6. yahhboy

    yahhboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    86

    No as long as you don't unplug the phone during the update it'll be fine.
    No the phone doesn't come with an sdcard but at least it has 4gb as an internal as card :D yeah so it seems your options are:
    Try factory reset
    Update phone
    Or just get a new one through warranty (if your phone doesn't randomly reboot I would leave this option last)
     
    toke_ likes this.
  7. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    No that's how we've been unbricking them :D Try a hard reset like mentioned. Just hold the center of the volume key and then hold the power button till it comes on. Then continue to hold the volume keys until you get to s black screen with white letters then tap the power button 2-3 times.
     
  8. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    ill try the factory reset i guess. and idk if this has to do with anything but once i connected to wifi thats when the problems started.
     
  9. yahhboy

    yahhboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    86

    Unless you have a really funky router it shouldn't be a problem, let us know how the factory rest gos :)
     
  10. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    i have comcast xfinity router. but anyways the factory reset worked, sucks i lost my stuff tho. hopefully it doesnt act up? any apps i should avoid?
     
  11. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    68
    take it back and get a refund or exchange it for a new one. Sure your phone could probably be fixed but its not a good sign when it starts doing this the first day you've had it. Take it back ;)
     
  12. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    yeah i know what your saying. but i cant get a refund and if i exchange i get a refurb one. idk...
     
  13. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    68
    there are a number of people who have refurbished ones including me, that have had better success with the refurbed ones. I've had mine longer than my original new one, and its been running flawlessly. I've even overclocked mine to 2.2Ghz
     
  14. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    how many days do i have to get a different one? like the warranty without having to pay anything? because i wanna see if its fine now or if itll act up again
     
  15. emilioferro22

    emilioferro22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    MY FLASHEDLG ESTEEM i started messing around with rom toolbox and not knowing i change the lcd density to 250 the problem waent to big exept some apps said not compatibable with your devic but tonigth i downloadd lcd desity app and i accidently change the lcd density to 140 instead of 240 i turn my phone and it just stays loading on the boot aniation HOW TO FIX PLZ HELP URGENT :(
     
  16. toke_

    toke_ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    40
    ummm start your own thread. you'll get better help.
     
  17. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Restore the back up or reflash.
     
  18. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    68


    this ^^^^
    check out the solution I have for this:
    http://androidforums.com/esteem-all...not-compatible-when-lowering-lcd-density.html
     
  19. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
  20. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    68
    sorry forgot to quote the thread hijacker :p
     
  21. yahhboy

    yahhboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    86

    Warranty is a year exchange/return is either 60 minutes talk time or 7 days, whichever comes first :)
     
  22. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Just FYI to all that 1 hour talk within 7 days ONLY applies to new customers Not existing customers that have upgrade/got a new phone.
     
  23. travioso

    travioso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    179
    That's some BS.. Screw the loyal customers.. Js..
     
  24. redhook

    redhook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    142
    Or you can reset it under Settings, Privacy while in Android.
     
  25. redhook

    redhook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    142
    You can return it for a full refund during the first 7 days if you have used less than 60 minutes of talk time.

    That's not what I was told when I upgraded. Not to mention that would be illegal under several state and federal consumer protection laws.
     

Share This Page

Loading...