When 2.1 is released (officially) and you upgrade, will it wipe your phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ToxicToastKatz, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member
    43

    Oct 3, 2009
    365
    37
    43
    Civil Engineer
    Aurora, IL
    I wanted to use a shorter title for the thread, but I didn't want to draw the ire of the community for thinking that I was giving new info on 2.1 :)

    In all seriousness though, with all the threads on 2.1 and related topics....WHEN it is finally officially released from HTC/Sprint and it is available to us, the Hero owners, to download and install on our units (most likely through PC/USB upgrading and not OTA....not that it matters for this question) will it wipe the phone?

    The reason I am asking is because this is, in fact, a completely new OS and not just an MR patch. I have posed this very question to HTC tech support when asking about another issue and they said that it will not wipe info/settings/etc from the phone. I don't know what to think about that.

    With my last WinMo phone, when the Sprint Rev A upgrade came out, it blew out everything from the phone and it was a fresh start. When I upgraded my iMac w/ Snow Leopard, it didn't change a thing. With that comparison, I guess I can believe both sides, however, I was curious if anyone on here has a definitive answer through experience that it wouldn't wipe all the info. Hasn't there been a few OS changes already with Android for the earlier phones? I'm sure there's info out there somewhere, but I was hoping to hear it from someone on here.

    This is kind of a relevant question, because if it is going to require a complete wipe, I have absolutely no reason not to root, since I'd have to go back to stock RUU to get the upgrade, which would require a fresh wipe of the phone. I'll most likely still be rooting this week, however, I'm still curious about what the upgrade to 2.1 is going to require.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member
    128

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    it's entirely possible, but you might just as well wait for the devs to get their custom 2.1's out
     
  3. hempwallace

    hempwallace Well-Known Member
    36

    Nov 5, 2009
    105
    6
    36
    I don't guess anyone knows at this point. Either way, I'll gladly do the update.

    I would almost rather that it completely wipe everyihing and start over. I just think there's a lot less chance for errors and problems that way.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    VIP Member
    823

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    +1

    Just wait a few days after the update and ask us again and we'll be able to tell you.
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member
    68

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    I will speculate here.

    To save Sprint from a customer service nightmare, no it will be in place upgrade with no loss of contacts/data.

    It will probably happen the way our first MR did except it may not be OTA.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...