When a root isn't a root!?!


Last Updated:

  1. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Folks,

    I've recently rooted my Hero, but I'm not sure it's actually worked!?!

    When I start the unit by pressing Power and Home, the Android Recovery System (root) menu appears and that makes me a happy-type-chap.

    But........and there's always a but........when I try and use any root app they either say the unit isn't rooted or just don't do what they're suppose to :confused:

    I know that apps are generic and growing/learning on a day to day basis (which I think is why I'm so happy that I went with the Hero/Android) and I'm thinking that maybe due to the recent Hero upgrade and the root build I have, the current root apps aren't compatible?

    Here's a breakdown of my current set-up:

    Firmware - 1.5
    Software - 1.0.0.A6288
    Root - RA-HERO-v1.2.2

    Any help would be really appreciated.


    Chegs.
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have MoDaCo and a similar issue.
    Seems to me like the apps are not updated to work with Hero/MoDaCo..
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Right, you've flashed the modified recovery image successfully....

    Did you push su and superuser.apk to the device as per the instructions? It's su (superuser) that gives root access, and superuser.apk lets you 'whitelist' trusted apps.

    I haven't found one yet. Root Explorer, Root Booter, Backup for Root Users, Autostarts and Swapper all work with MCR2.3.
     
  4. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okey dokey, as I've seen so may lists of instructions over the past few days I've got myself even more confused that you'd realise!?!

    I've not pushed the su and superuser.apk, as using the Command Prompt hasn't been possible, seemingly due to the upgrade on my handset, which is why I had to go with the SD root option.

    Oh what to do :confused:


    Chegs.
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    You should be able to do from the prompt when in the recovery image, I think. Actually, I think you may have to fastboot into it to get access.... haven't got time to check at the mo but I'll try to confirm later.
     
  6. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Slug-Meister, how do I get "in the recovery image" and can I assume the prompt would be via the PC?

    Ah, something else I don't understand!?! :eek:

    Bloody computers/data/binary code!?!

    No worries fella. One day we'll get this sort and I can stop bothering you ;)


    Chegs.
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Correct, you'll use the command line via a Windows prompt.

    I assume you have a folder on your PC from your earlier flashing containing Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img? Next, download modacopatchedrecovery-1.0.zip and extract the contents of the /Hero folder to there. You need adb.exe, fastboot.exe, superuser.apk and su.

    Now comes the fun part.... :)

    1) restart into bootloader (switch on holding the back button)

    3) Connect handset via USB

    4) open CMD prompt from the above folder and type the following command: fastboot boot Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img
    (your handset should now enter the recovery console)

    5)Now type the following commands exactly as they are here, hitting enter for a new line:

    adb shell mount /system
    adb push su /system/bin/
    adb shell chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    adb push Superuser.apk /system/app/
    adb shell reboot

    Congratulations you now have root access! :)

    As a quick check, connect handset via USB and at the command prompt (as above) type: adb shell
    If you then see the $ prompt, type su. A black window will pop-up on the handset and (eventually) ask you to allow/deny root access. This is Superuser Permissions (superuser.apk) doing its thing - select 'always allow' so that you can run as su without hinderence in the future. You'll then see the # root prompt as visual proof of your rootedness. :D
     
  8. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am now fully rooted and booted :D

    YEAAHHHH!?! (< This isn't shouting, it's me being very excited!)

    Slug, you're a diamond and thanks for sticking with me on this ;)


    Chegs.
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    It worked? Phew! Glad you're fixed up, Chegs.
     
  10. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    I almost threw the computer out of the window and it wouldn't mount the img via Fastboot USB, but as I already had it installed (via the SD card), decided to risk bricking my Hero and try the abd commands via the recovery screen and it work..........well it's certainly now letting me use the root software from the Market etc. :D

    I tried the adb shell thingy, but a #, rather than $ came up, so when I grab root software, I'm clicking the grant permission always button at this point, which I again expect (well hope) is normal?


    Chegs.
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Yup, it's good. I go straight to # prompt also but I couldn't remember if it had always been that way. :eek:
     
  12. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    A $ prompt is the prompt for normal terminal ...

    whereas:

    a # prompt is the prompt for root (super user)
     

Share This Page

Loading...