When do you think we will see 2.2 ??

1. Richzilla

Richzilla New Member

Does anyone know when this phone will receive the firmware upgrade from 2.1 to 2.2 ??

What is US Cellulars track record on these type of upgrades ??

Advertisement
  2. barefootpoet

barefootpoet Member

I've heard around Octoberish for the Froyo 2.2 upgrade.
    mattrh, Dark Reality and Richzilla like this.
  3. Richzilla

Richzilla New Member

Awesome. Thanks :)
  4. rasmith3530

rasmith3530 Well-Known Member

Historically, US Cellular was not one to rush out updates unless there was a severe problem. That said, I think we might see faster movement on this on, as they seem to get the idea that with Android, it's all about the freshness and apps.
    mattrh and Richzilla like this.
  5. Dark Reality

Dark Reality Well-Known Member

Do we want 2.2?

I mean, what will 2.2 do for us that 2.1 doesn't? Sorry, I'm new to Android, but I've never had a phone that got firmware updates before. Are we talking bug fixes, or new features?
  6. rasmith3530

Here's a brief breakdown of Froyo benefits.

The Home screen will include a tips Widget to assist new users in how to customize their home screen.

Where today we see the default gray button to bring up the menu, it will be joined by dedicated phone and Internet buttons. They will be accessible from any of the five standard screens.

Improved MSFT Exchange support will include improved security with the addition of alpha-numeric passwords. Corporate IT Admins will be able to enforce password policy among devices. The capability to perform a remote wipe will be available for Exchange Admins. Froyo will support OTA Exchange Calendar sync. You will only need to know your AD (Active Directory) username and password to set up your Exchange account on the phone (Exchange 2007 and up only). Exchange Global Address Lists will now be supported.