When I open Sprint Navagation the phone reboots itself...Support


Last Updated:

  1. Sim-X

    Sim-X Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    24
    So this just started happening. It has happened a few times now. I go to open Sprint Navigation the phone will reboot itself. Once it is rebooted it will load up fine. Once the phone has been on for a while same thing will happen again. Haven't noticed it in any other programs but very annoying.

    Anyone else have the same problem and know a way to fix it?

    I'm thinking about hard-resetting.
     

    Advertisement
  2. EdwardChen

    EdwardChen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine was seriously lagging sometimes, and would reboot itself randomly as I open apps. A hard reset seems to have hoped my ego for now... it may have been all the tweaks I applied to holp with th battery life. Still working on the battery life issue...
     
  3. Sim-X

    Sim-X Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    24
    yea mine is still really fast, I have made a few tweaks but nothing major. Just was wondering if anyone had the same problem
     
  4. amw1972

    amw1972 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    I had this issue...and it seemed to be connected to Android Task Killer.

    Uninstall ATK (if you had it before...and uninstalled, the issue remains)

    Hard Reset (settings, privacy, factory reset) I used MyBackupPro from the Market to back up my data and apps.

    Do NOT reinstall any task killers.

    You should NOT have anymore reboot problems
     
    Sim-X likes this.
  5. Sim-X

    Sim-X Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yup, I have that installed.

    Thank You & Thanked

    I'll give it a whirl!
     
  6. rgcarney

    rgcarney Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the hard reset with the same issues. It did not work.
     
  7. gordo

    gordo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had to hard reset mine twice now and don't use any task killers and it wont stop rebooting. And sprint is telling me that I have to pay to get a new phone. This is BS
     
  8. merceyamore

    merceyamore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue. It didn't occur until the updated software push. It wasn't an application I downloaded ie: ATK and/or even the Battery Status Pro. It happened mostly when I tried to connect to applications looking for my location (gps based programs). Becuase I have insurance, I called Sprint and asked them to send me another phone. Because it was a premature software push (that Sprint is totally aware of) I won't have to pay anything, though I've never had to pay for a replacement phone anyway.

    My suggestion is to do a factory reset and if you're still having the same issue, then call sprint and have them send out a new phone. It's a hardware problem now and you will need a new handset.

    Just my input. Please let me know if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am.:confused:
     
  9. merceyamore

    merceyamore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Only if you don't have TEP insurance is when you will have to pay. Otherwise it's covered under your insurance. The representative should NOT have told you to pay for another handset.:confused:

    If you're within your 30 days of purchase, you can go back to where you purchased the phone and they have to do a free phone swap. :eek: You SHOULD NOT have to pay for anything and I would not accept that as an answer if they tell you otherwise.:rolleyes:
     
  10. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    You should be able to return if inside 30 days or you have TEP. Before you do that though, try removing the battery as a part of the reset process. Leave the battery out for 5-10 mins and then try again. It may or may not work for you, but I was able to get a more complete reset by doing this when I had issues with one of the original updates after first receiving the Evo.
     
  11. bobgeorge

    bobgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Over the last two days while using Sprint Navigation my Evo has rebooted for know reason.

    Also, sometimes it has rebooted while I am in the middle of a call. Has any one had these problems over the last few days?

    If so....anyone have a fix?
     
  12. snowscum

    snowscum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had my google nav going for 2 hours on the way to Portland airport last week and when I went to answer a call, it rebooted on me. Very annoying.
    It was pretty warm. Mine also goes through these "gets warm" periods only when Im using 3g. I have no idea whats it is that causes this. Was your phone hot?
     
  13. bobgeorge

    bobgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no way of verifying if my phone was hot at the time.
     
  14. bobgeorge

    bobgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    NE1 else have this problem?
     
  15. jpulley03

    jpulley03 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the problem too, don't know how to fix it.
     
  16. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    Wife and I were using her Navigator yesterday and all of a sudden she goes "Damn POS just rebooted".
    We had to pull over cause I didnt know which way to turn. I entered address into mine while hers was rebooting.
     
  17. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    Is this only with Sprint Navigation? I usually use Google Navigation and don't have the rebooting issue. Not sure about receiving a call, I'll try to test the call navigation feature this weekend see if the Evo will reboot when I receive a call in both Google and Sprint.
     
  18. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    She definitely was making or receiving a call when it rebooted.
     
  19. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    I don't have this problem because I don't use Sprint Navigation, and in my opinion there is no reason to. Google Navigation is so so so much better and more user friendly. It also has one of those Evo mind-blowing app moments - when you get to an intersection, it automatically displays a street-level picture of the intersection you are at with a big arrow telling you where to turn. Pretty awesome.

    The only problem is that the voice on Google Navigation is from the 80's. You would think they could fix that.
     
  20. Bevo's Big Brother

    Bevo's Big Brother Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    23
    I use Google Nav exclusively and my EVO reboots when I am on the phone after a short period of time. 1 to 3 minutes.
     
  21. Fighton

    Fighton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't use Sprint Navigation either but i have had the same problem when using Google Navigation. If I turn on the GPS and immediately start up google nav my phone reboots every time. Last time I turned on GPS I waited a minute to start up google nav and that seemed to work.
     
  22. Minjin

    Minjin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've had the same issue with navigation and reboot during a call.
     
  23. nikeblade

    nikeblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sim-X,

    I have an Evo and have been having the exact same problem but only when I try making or receiving a call while I am using the Sprint Navigator. Today I tried using the navigator in Google Maps and it worked like a charm. I received a call while using the Google Nav and my phone did NOT crash/reboot. However while I was talking on my phone w/my hands free I noticed that if/when the navigator gave the directions it would talk over my caller. Kind of irritating but not nearly as bad as when my phone would reboot... So in short I recommend giving Google Nav a try. Good luck!

    NB
     
  24. gspam1

    gspam1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I get a reboot after a minute or so when talking through my Bluetooth speaker when Sprint Navigation is running in the background. Happens every time.
     
  25. gezzuzz

    gezzuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    +1... task killer causes this.. i only use it every now and then.. but when you start some apps will crash but start the second time..
     

Share This Page

Loading...