When will Froyo be available in Asian Region?Support


Last Updated:

  1. commandche

    commandche New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a Samsung Galaxy S i9000 smartphone, which I pruchase here in Singapore. I already installed the latest version of KIES but it will still keep on telling me that I have the latest version of the firmware.

    Here's my phone's details:

    PDA: I9000DXJG4
    PHONE: I9000DXJG4
    CSC: I9000OLBJG4

    Do you have any idea as to when it will come to our regoin?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. LateNiteMike

    LateNiteMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    14
    Wondering the same thing myself...here in Thailand.

    Also,...can we do the entire firmware upgrade using ONLY Odin? I really don't want to have to deal with all the problems that others have been having when trying to use Kies (crap).
     
  3. SlowRain

    SlowRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's here already in Taiwan. I don't imagine it will too long for the rest of Asia.
     
  4. commandche

    commandche New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi SlowRain,

    Do you also have the same phone details as mine before you upgrad to froyo?
    I assume that you used Kies for the upgrade right?
    How was it so far?

    I'm still waiting for it here in Singapore, still no luck. Tried it yesterday thru Kies still saying the latest firmware is already installed.
     
  5. ayongkot

    ayongkot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    22
    go to samfirmware.com all the necessary files/programs to upgrade to froyo is there, you have to register though.
     
  6. talktoanil

    talktoanil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    10
    nothing here for India and i guess its gonaa be next year now.
     
  7. commandche

    commandche New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OMG!!!

    Hofefully not next year. They've said that it will be available on all corners of the world by the end of Nov. So i guess we still are left with roughly a couple of weeks.

    sigh...
     
  8. BO3527

    BO3527 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I never expected this sort of delay from Samsung... :mad:
    I sent mail to customer care in Singapore but did not get any update from them...:D as usual ...
    They did not test those phones religiously:confused:.... and have rolled out in the market in Jun2010 with so called LAG issues. :rolleyes:
    There are many thread floating around all the Samsung Galaxy S forums, which helps you to solve the LAG fix problems...but please know it thoroughly before taking any action. I liked the below one... eye opening thread...
    xda-developers - View Single Post - UPDATED - Real fix for the "stalling/lagging" problem

    Hope Samsung has solved that LAG fix problem in 2.2
     
  9. SlowRain

    SlowRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    I can't remember what my phone details where before updating, other than 2.1 Eclair. I updated through Kies.

    The update went well. The phone restarts itself after everything is installed. It seems like it takes forever to restart, which makes some people nervous, but I think it's around 2 or three minutes--but be prepared for 5. After the update, my phone lagged like crazy. I had to reboot it again, some had to do it a couple of times. I also noticed my battery life is a bit shorter now--I'm guessing around 10-15%--but the movements are much faster, so I guess that's the trade-off.
     
  10. akshayrajsingh

    akshayrajsingh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0

    Great to know that it sucesfully updated. One qstn. wat abt ur existing downloaded/installed apps. When u upgraded to froyo via kies, did it still retain all ur existing phone data (apps) ????
     
  11. anson_wong25

    anson_wong25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    After mine upgraded to Froyo, my previous apps remained.
    However, I agree with the previous poster who says that it lags a bit more than with Eclair.
     
  12. SlowRain

    SlowRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    Everything stayed. No problems there, only that my app drawer was automatically reorganized, mostly placing all my apps in alphabetical order, whereas they were previously in the order I installed them.
     
  13. kohc22

    kohc22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would love to have the apps arranged in alphabetical order. It irks me to have to scroll through pages of apps just to get to the ones that I use frequently but that were installed later
     
  14. caesey

    caesey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    12
    I found this out by accident, the apps are sorted in alphabetical order when you "soft reset" the phone. All I did was hold down the power button when the phone was on.
     
  15. andshm

    andshm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Root it then in OCLF from marketplace. Install Superpower too to control battery drain.
    I found superpower very effective.
     
  16. freak2demon

    freak2demon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just updated mine to froyo thru KIES.

    PDA: I9000DXJPA
    PHONE: I9000DXJPA
    CSC: I9000OLBJPA

    Some of my installed applications are missing but not all of them.
    Waited for this update for a long long time.
     
  17. mooseolly

    mooseolly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. softpinkishlips

    softpinkishlips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it available in the Philippines?
     
  19. LateNiteMike

    LateNiteMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi there. I noticed that these postings go back to November. I'm wondering if anyone would care to post more current info regarding FW upgrades.
    From what I'm reading on the web it seems that DXJPA (2.2) is now DXJPE (2.2.1?) and is available in the SEA region as the most recent version...and can be done using Kies.
    Has any of you posters in this thread, or anyone else out there in the SEA region done a FW upgrade to DXJPE? Did you use Kies?
    If so, how did it go??? Is this truly the 2.2.1 update I've/We've been waiting for ?
    Damn,....I sure as hell hope so ! Ha ! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...