Where do you store all your ringtones etc?


Last Updated:

  1. PetiePal

    PetiePal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hey everyone! I got my Droid finally on Saturday and I've been putzing around a lot. One nice surprise was that after getting the Mabilo ringtone app (where all the tones are free etc) I found a ton of the ones I've used in the past and had set up to copy over from my computer.

    Now I know Mabilo keeps its own ringtone directory, and I copied over my own folder "Ringtones" to the root directory.

    I have Astro file manager installed. Can you use this to move ringtones from certain folders to others or do I have to do this manually via mounting the MicroSD? I had Quark Ringtone app installed for a bit and there's only one tone in there I want before I uninstall...can you move files via Astro?
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    You can use Astro but it is a heck of a lot easier to plug in via USB, mount the SD card and manipulate folders on a PC (my opinion).
    Good luck.
    J.
     
  3. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    You can copy and paste with Astro. It's a chore though. Long press on a file > Edit > Copy/Cut, navigate to destination folder, rinse and repeat with paste. If you have multiple files and you don't want to copy an entire folder it's kind of a pain. If there's a way to select multiple files in Astro that I don't know about, please let me know.
     
  4. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Still not all that easy, but you can Menu>edit>select all which turns all files in the current directory orange. You can then tap on the ones to deselect them and then Menu>edit to do whatever you want to the remaining files that are selected.
     
  5. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    There is also a multiselect button. Menu>More>Preferences>toolbar preferences and check "multi-select"

    This puts it in the top bar and is orange when you are in multi-select mode.
     
  6. raphytaffy

    raphytaffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which folders are we manipulating? Mounted it and I've been trying to find where the corresponding ringtones/alert sounds are but I can't seem to find them.
     
  7. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Create folders named "ringtones" and "alarms" without the quotes in the root directory (ex. E:\ringtones) and put the audio files you want to use for each in their respective folders.
     
  8. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    and if that doesn't work (for me it didn't for all programs) create folders in/at sdcard>media>audio>ringtones [alarms, etc], and put the audio files in them.
    J.
     
  9. raphytaffy

    raphytaffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! Got my ringtones set up, but the sms app doesn't recognize any of the ones I've added. Do I need to create a separate folder for this?
     
  10. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Forgot about that one. That would be a folder called "notifications" I believe. I don't get why they made it so complicated instead of being able to have all sounds in one folder.
     
  11. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    By creating these folders "ringtones" "alarms" in the root (E:) will the default ringtone selector recognize these automatically?
    I have many I have cut from MP3s previously.
     
  12. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    Yes, you should see them in the various programs if you go in and change the 'ringtone' or 'alarm' or whatever it is.
     
  13. PetiePal

    PetiePal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    43
    Cool I already had a ringtone directory but I just created an alarms one with Astro. I'll mount and copy the tones later and see if it works. I may just copy the contents of ringtones to alarms to make sure I've got access to everything no matter what
     
  14. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    WORKS GREAT Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...